1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Acer Aspire SA-80 Upgrade Help...

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by paulb100, Aug 20, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. paulb100

    paulb100 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,874
    Hi

    My dad has an Acer Aspire SA-80 and wants to upgrade to a decent graphics card but as its AGP i suggested a new Motherboard....

    now what we plan to do is:-
    new motherboard with PCI-E 16x
    nVidia (XFX) 8800GS Graphics Card
    2Gb DDR2 RAM (2x1Gb is better isnt it for dual channel work?)

    OFFTOPIC: he wants to play flight-sim x (2006) and also needs a good joystick

    has anyone had any experience upgrading one of these SA-80's?

    im concerned about the case size for the graphics card

    ALSO - does the 8800GS require its own power supply? (meaning new PSU also)

    any advice greatly appreciated

    thanks
     
  2. paulb100

    paulb100 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,874
    anyone?

    heres inside of PC

    It has 300w PSU and I have http://www.ebuyer.com/product/105994 to go in also cos current is noisey - I also have arctic5 silver paste to go with

    will 8800GS fit in there (obviously with new motherboard)

    also

    will the Arctic Cooling AC-FRZ-7P Freezer 7 fit in there also? im worried the PSU may get in way though ive looked at photo and the FRZ-7P which I have and I think its gunna go in ok
     

    Attached Files:

  3. paulb100

    paulb100 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,874
    we thinking of getting an:-
    intel E7200 (2.5Ghz / 1066Mhz / 3Mb ) and a
    Zotac 8800GT 512Mb / 660Mhz / 1800Mz
    new Motherboard
    New PSU
    New 2Gb RAM (2x1Gb for Dual-Channelling)

    whatcha reckon? what wattage PSU would supply that? I currently have a Hiper 425Watt supplying a E4400 (2 x 2.2Ghz / 800Mhz / 2Mb) and a XFX 8600GT 540Mhz / 700Mhz in my uncles build (with 1 DVD and 1 HD) and thats been fine... would the 8800GT need a bit more?
     
  4. paulb100

    paulb100 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,874
    bump

    anyone?
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/741912

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice