1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Acer Aspire Won't Boot

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by scttcrssmn, Oct 15, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. scttcrssmn

    scttcrssmn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    My son's Acer Aspire AM5100 won't start. Fans didn't even start. Opened, found tons of crud on CPU heat sink, removed fan, cleaned off heat sink, replace fan. Still no start. Removed CMOS for one hour, held power button on for one minute. Fans finally started but no boot. No beep. Reseated all plugs, removed and reinstalled RAM. No burn marks on Mobo. What next?
     
  2. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,854
    First Name:
    Rob
    I'd swap in a known working power supply, grab one from another working PC and see if it works.
     
  3. scttcrssmn

    scttcrssmn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Have never swapped a power supply. Can I use power supply from my Dell Pavilion? Easy or difficult? Any special precautions?
     
  4. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,854
    First Name:
    Rob
    Dell doesn't have a Pavilion line, Pavilion is an HP line. It may or may not be compatible depending on the age, what is the model number of the computer?

    It's not terribly difficult, here's a guide: http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/article/362
    You can also probably find a video on Youtube with how to do it as well.
     
  5. scttcrssmn

    scttcrssmn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    My mistake, Dell Dimension 3100.
     
  6. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,854
    First Name:
    Rob
    For testing only purposes it should work.
     
  7. scttcrssmn

    scttcrssmn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Ok, thanks. I'll look at the instruction tonight and swap out the power supply. I'm assuming if it does not start with the Dell power supply, then the CPU is bad? Any chance the Aspire will damage my Dell power supply?
     
  8. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,854
    First Name:
    Rob
    CPU's rarely go bad. Power supplies commonly fail and motherboards do as well. There's some chance it could damage it but unlikely. However since the Dell PSU is a bit on the old side I wouldn't recommend running the PC very long with it, just enough to see if it powers on.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1072756

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice