Acer Aspire X1301 sound problem

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

championless

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 23, 2009
Messages
49
Wondering if anyone can help me. We have just bought a Acer Aspire X1301 pc to hook up to our tv via hdmi. When trying to play sounds, it’s all distorted and tinny. We’ve tried different hdmi cables, different slot on the tv and headphones (sound was fine). I’ve updated the sound drivers and chipset, is there anything that can be causing this? It’s driving me crazy

Have a video to show the error if required
 

DaveA

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 16, 1999
Messages
16,542
First Name
David
Is this using the speakers of the laptop or do you have some external speakers attached?
 

championless

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 23, 2009
Messages
49
Is this using the speakers of the laptop or do you have some external speakers attached?
Hi

It’s using the TV and the sound bar that it’s attached to. We’ve also tried using the sound on the tv and it’s the same. It’s not a laptop though, it’s a desktop machine plugged into our tv via hdmi.

Thanks
 

DaveA

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 16, 1999
Messages
16,542
First Name
David
We’ve also tried using the sound on the tv and it’s the same
Then the settings on the sound bar needs to be adjusted.
 

championless

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 23, 2009
Messages
49
Then the settings on the sound bar needs to be adjusted.
The sound bar works just fine for other hdmi slots though, the tv , PS4, switch and fire stick all play sound fine but the computer doesn’t. When we turn off the sound bar and just use the TV’s sound, it sounds the same, so that would suggest it’s not the sound bar right?
 

DaveA

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 16, 1999
Messages
16,542
First Name
David
What does is sound like when using the TV speakers?
 

DaveA

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 16, 1999
Messages
16,542
First Name
David
Then I would say that the TV is generating the issue out the normal connection, or the cable being used is the problem.
Try a different sound cable.
 

TerryNet

Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,272
First Name
Terry
My first suspect is the HDMI cable.

My second suspect is the PC's HDMI connection. Remove the cable and reinsert it carefully and firmly a few times.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top