1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Acer aspire

Discussion in 'Networking' started by chris20474, Oct 3, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. chris20474

    chris20474 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Hi , I have an ACER ASPIRE 5735 LAPTOP. IT DID NOT COME WITH A Resourse cd....I cannot locate the wireless network driver for it online... it says the adapter is installed... the wireless doesnt work though on it.
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,878
    First Name:
    Wayne
    would you post back the following

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {Device Manager}
    Post back the results in device manager
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Start > control Panel {Vista set to classic view}> system > {Vista, device manager on left hand side} {XP hardware Tab, device manager button} >
    windows 7
    start > control panel> System and Security> Device Manager

    network adaptors, click on the + > post back the devices listed there
    are there any ! ? or X


    post a screen shot of the device manager - network adapters

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. chris20474

    chris20474 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    thanks for the quick reply.

    Device manager shows the network adapter as : Generic Marvell Yukon 88E8071 based ethernet controller

    in "other devices" theres a yellow mark on netwrok controller AND SM bus controller
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,878
    First Name:
    Wayne
  5. chris20474

    chris20474 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    ok, installed chipset.
     
  6. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,783
    So are you down to just one Yellow in Dev manager.
     
  7. chris20474

    chris20474 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    yes.for network controller., the other has been corrected :)
     
  8. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,783
    You didn't specify what os you were running.
     
  9. chris20474

    chris20474 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    sorry.win vista home premum 32 bit
     
  10. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,783
    Right click the device with the Yellow !
    click the details tab
    Under Property Select hardware ids
    Right click and select all.
    Then right click again and select copy.
    Copy and paste that here.
     
  11. chris20474

    chris20474 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    how do i attach file here. when i upload it. i dont see it when i go back to this msg.and it keeps telling me to attach.
     
  12. chris20474

    chris20474 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    this work?>
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,783
    That works but makes it harder for everyone else. All you had to do was follow my instructions and you could have copied and pasted the values. Please do what we ask next time.
     
  14. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,783
    Download the Atheros Wireless Lan driver for you OS.
     
  15. chris20474

    chris20474 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    PLEASE REMEMBER THIS IS 2 seperate PC's i am having to use.........THIS ONE RIGHT HERE I POST WITH IS NOT THE ONE IN QUESTION.. I CANNOT JUST COPY AND PASTE!! i had to go to the laptop in question.get the info do whatever i had to.,then put on flash drive and bring to this pc to post to you.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/954009

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice