1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Acer R1600 w/busted NIC

Discussion in 'Networking' started by McB123, Apr 11, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. McB123

    McB123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition, Service Pack 3, 32 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Atom(TM) CPU 230 @ 1.60GHz, x86 Family 6 Model 28 Stepping 2
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 3071 Mb
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA ION LE, 512 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 137264 MB, Free - 65702 MB; D: Total - 221777 MB, Free - 202938 MB;
    Motherboard: Acer, FMCP7A-ION
    Antivirus: McAfee Anti-Virus and Anti-Spyware, Updated: Yes, On-Demand Scanner: Enabled

    Now that all the formalities are out of the way, I have an Acer Revo R1600. Turned it off last night. Turned it on this morning and the NIC does not work. MORE DETAIL: The hardware shows in the Device Manager with no yellow ! or errors. Just no link light between router and PC. Used multiple known working cables in different router ports to no avail. Anyone have a good suggestion beside throw it away and start over on how to replace the lan jack or trace out the NIC hardware on the MB? Good Machine with a "game lag". I'd hate to have to take it out back and shoot it !:eek:
     
  2. CleaverX

    CleaverX

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,323
    Make sure it is not disabled.
     
  3. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,618
    First Name:
    Terry
    It's possible that a misconfigured or corrupted McAfee is blocking, so I'd test by uninstalling McAfee and running the Removal Tool. You can reinstall after testing.

    Disable the current NIC and install a USB or PCI (if you have a spare slot) ethernet adapter.
     
  4. CleaverX

    CleaverX

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,323
    Hello Terry, this is a peculiar ultra-compact desktop and has no provisions for any add-on cards, and a usb to Ethernet adapter is a mail order option.
    The OP can try to make sure the adapter is not disabled:
    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows-xp/help/networking/manage-network-connections


    and then a loopback test:
    https://www.microsoft.com/resources...oddocs/en-us/sag_tcpip_pro_ping.mspx?mfr=true


    If it turns out that the Ethernet port is really mucked up then a usb adapter would be the only option
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,618
    First Name:
    Terry
    Then no question there is no "spare slot." :D

    Thanks for the clarification.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Acer R1600 busted
  1. Bruh22222222222222222223
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    391
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1146402

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice