Acer Travelmate 2350, LEDs on but no boot

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

winpc

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 8, 2012
Messages
221
Sudden problem.

Left the laptop booted up.

Came back and nothing.

All I have now is the LEDs lighting up when I put the DC plug in but not boot. Once the plug is removed, the LEDs go out.


Any ideas?
 

managed

Allan
Moderator
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
15,080
Is it the same with the battery connected and removed ?
 

winpc

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 8, 2012
Messages
221
Yes, its the same either with or without the battery.

Someone suggested removing the battery for a while and then refit - I'll refit it tomorrow.

If that doesn't solve it, then I suppose I'll have to take the laptop apart and look for loose connections and burnt out bits and bobs?
 

managed

Allan
Moderator
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
15,080
I think leaving the battery out overnight might reset the Bios settings and it might boot if it does. Most laptops have a separate small battery to keep the Bios settings from changing like that but I couldn't find any mention of one in the manual I link to below.

If the above doesn't help then yes you could try dismantling it, you can get a service manual for it here :- http://www.manualslib.com/manual/232667/Acer-Travelmate-2350.html
Click the green download button at top left then on the new webpage enter the 3 characters it asks for and click on the blue 'Get Manual' button.
 

winpc

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 8, 2012
Messages
221
I put the battery back in this morning and the laptop came back to life, started to boot, then died after about 20 seconds.
 

managed

Allan
Moderator
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
15,080
Try leaving the battery out overnight again then tomorrow switch it on with just the charger connected and the battery still out.
 

winpc

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 8, 2012
Messages
221
Had the laptop to bits and couldn't find any damage or loose connections.


Tried to boot it after re-assembly - still the same - I believe its had it.
 

managed

Allan
Moderator
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
15,080
It doesn't look good. You could try fitting another motherboard, you might find a used one at a reasonable price on Ebay.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top