1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Acquire a Downloadable File in Batch

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by Stanislovski, Aug 11, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Stanislovski

Stanislovski Guest Thread Starter

Hi All

I'm a programmer, but not in PC languages. There's an Excel file, available from a website, whose contents need to be downloaded and converted to another format. The actual conversion - i.e. the parts after downloading and saving as .csv - is done, but I'm wondering if the first part could be automated. The site does not provide FTP access - it's just a "right-click and download" situation.

So, my question is:
    1. Can a simple batch file (or whatever) be created to download a specific named file from a specific site?
    2. Additionally, can the file be saved as .csv (from Excel) at the same time.

At the moment I have to leave clunky instructions to the user to navigate to the site, right-click, etc., then call the conversion.

Thanks in advance.

2. -Fabez-

-Fabez-

Get the address of the file to be downloaded from the link, so the program knows where to download it from. Batch files are not high level so they will not be able to download from the internet, so it would be worth taking a look at a higher level language. If you want any help I will be happy to assist. :D

3. Stanislovski

Thank you. That's very generous of you to offer.

Is C++ like C? If so, we could maybe do this directly from the target machine and save a step. The target is an i5 (fomerly called iSeries and before that AS/400). It's connected to the internet (actually it's a web server), and it can run a C program.

Here's a snippet of C - does it look familiar?

#include <stdio.h>
    #include <time.h>
    int main(int argc, char *argv[])
    {