Solved Acrobat Reader & Firefox access problems

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

raygdw

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 11, 2001
Messages
505
Since yesterday I have had problems with both Acrobat Reader and with Firefox.

With Acrobat I can open a document and then after a few minutes I get a pop-up saying the application was unable to start correctly. See Image

With Firefox sometimes it opesn perfectly and other times I get a pop-up saying cannot access.... (see image)

I have run Malwarebytes, I have checked properties > security > permission.

I even uninstalled Firefox, deleted C:\Program Files (x86) Mozilla Firefox. And re-installed.

With Acrobat I ran the repair facility.

I also ran sfc /scannow

I am now out of ideas.

I note that the forum asks me to download SySInfo and I did.
Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.4
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 10 Home, 64 bit
Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) CPU 2117U @ 1.80GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 58 Stepping 9
Processor Count: 2
RAM: 3911 Mb
Graphics Card: Intel(R) HD Graphics, -2012 Mb
Hard Drives: C: 446 GB (339 GB Free);
Motherboard: Acer, EA50_CX
Antivirus: Kaspersky Internet Security, Enabled and Updated
 

Attachments

plodr

Liz
Joined
Jun 27, 2014
Messages
20,676
The FF popup is for a 32 bit version of the program. (note the (x86) behind the Program Files). Switch to the 64 bit version.
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/switch-32-bit-64-bit

I found this possible fix for the Adobe Reader Error.
I had opened a PDF document and the same message popped up. the error you see After I clicked "ok", I went up in the tab area and selected the "Help" Tab and towards the bottom I selected "Repair Installation". This helped my situation. I haven't had it happen since.
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2011
Messages
108
Hi. I tried to install Acrobat Reader several times before found the problem. I found that I had unchecked the ACTIVE X FILTERING option under TOOLS on Internet Explorer as it interfered with some programs. I enabled it by rechecking, reinstalled Acrobat Reader and waited until I had actually opened the program before unchecking ACTIVE X again (which you don't need to do - I just wanted this). Hope this helps.
 

raygdw

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 11, 2001
Messages
505
The FF popup is for a 32 bit version of the program. (note the (x86) behind the Program Files). Switch to the 64 bit version.
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/switch-32-bit-64-bit

I found this possible fix for the Adobe Reader Error.
The FF popup is for a 32 bit version of the program. (note the (x86) behind the Program Files). Switch to the 64 bit version.
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/switch-32-bit-64-bit

I found this possible fix for the Adobe Reader Error.
Thank you very much. I have followed your advice with Firefox and so far it seems to be working. Sadly the Acrobat tip is no helping. I had actually already tried that. I am therefore going to uninstall and reinstall it and will report back
Again many thanks
 

raygdw

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 11, 2001
Messages
505
Hi. I tried to install Acrobat Reader several times before found the problem. I found that I had unchecked the ACTIVE X FILTERING option under TOOLS on Internet Explorer as it interfered with some programs. I enabled it by rechecking, reinstalled Acrobat Reader and waited until I had actually opened the program before unchecking ACTIVE X again (which you don't need to do - I just wanted this). Hope this helps.
I do not have Internet Explorer. Upgraded to Edge, Chrome and Firefox and they do not have that facility. But thanks.
 

plodr

Liz
Joined
Jun 27, 2014
Messages
20,676

raygdw

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 11, 2001
Messages
505
All is now working after reinstalling Acrobat and changing Firefox to 64 bit version
Thanks
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top