Acrobat Reader Forms: Fillable/Non-fillable

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

jwaldrich

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 28, 2000
Messages
221
In my job search I have found a number of sites that use Adobe Acrobat as their "application" on line.

How do I "fill in the blanks" in a PDF file like Acrobat? I have been printing the forms, filling them out, mailing or faxing them in.

I would like to know how to "fill in the blanks".

Thanks!!

Regards.
John Aldrich
:(
 

Anne Troy

Anne
Joined
Feb 14, 1999
Messages
11,749
John:

Not all PDF files ARE forms. Some are. Basically, you can tell the difference. Most of the time, your cursor is the cute little hand. But when you put the cursor over a fillable form field, it turns into an I-beam. If it doesn't, you can be pretty much assured that they're NOT fillable forms, but just printable ones.

Not a fillable form:

http://ftp.fedworld.gov/pub/irs-pdf/f1040.pdf

A fillable form (scroll to page 2):

http://www.ins.usdoj.gov/graphics/formsfee/forms/files/i-9.pdf

You'll see the difference.

Hope this helps!
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Ah, to dig up an old post....

Dreamboat, is there any way to make one that isn't fillable, fillable? I guess everyone who doesn't make them fillable figure we still have typewriters laying around :confused:
 

Anne Troy

Anne
Joined
Feb 14, 1999
Messages
11,749
Hi, girl.

Here's what I know (which could be inaccurate) about Acrobat (full--not Reader).

The absolute best way to make a PDF is to have a good source file from which to produce it. Then, if you want to make changes, you make changes to the source and reproduce the PDF. To my knowledge, editing PDFs isnt' like editing a Word doc, it's kind of like taking a screen shot of your monitor and then trying to edit the text in it.

Many people want to take someone else's PDF and turn it into a form, while it would be much easier to have the source doc that was used to create it in the first place.

Anyway, I've got the sucker installed. I'm willing to test just about anything for anybody. Just send files and tell me what you want. :)

[email protected]
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
I scoured thru Google and found it was available on another site and it was indeed fillable.....but, after I fill it out, I can't seem to be able to figure out how to save it with the information.....I must be an idiot :confused:

It's a Customs form 434.....on the government site, it isn't fillable, go figure.

I'll send you the one I downloaded and see what you can make of it........or me :eek:

BTW, I have Acrobat 5 (full).
 

jwaldrich

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 28, 2000
Messages
221
You are correct I have discovered. The single greatest advantage of acrobat files are that they cannot be changed. There are tools you can use on them (drawing tools) but you cannot type in information such as name etc like I originally wanted to do.

Thanks for everyones help and interest.
 

Anne Troy

Anne
Joined
Feb 14, 1999
Messages
11,749
"but you cannot type in information such as name etc like I originally wanted to do"

Well, you CAN, J, it's just that you need Acrobat to do it, not just Acrobat Reader....

I guess I'll be finding out more from what Girl sends me. :)
 

jwaldrich

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 28, 2000
Messages
221
I have the full version so I guess I better figure out how to get it done!
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Figured it out :D

The form is encrypted, so after removing the security from it, I can now print via Distiller and save it however and where ever I want :D :D

Thanks Dreamboat :)








*not an idiot after all * :p
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2003
Messages
4
I know how to use Acrobat - create forms from non-form documents, etc. but... how did you figure out how to remove the encryption from an encrypted document? (I think I've done it sometime before but I can't quite remember.) - especially the ones that are set not to allow printing?:rolleyes:
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
At the bottom of the form, you'll see a little yellow security thingie, click on that and you should get a pop up menu to remove it........
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top