Acrobat Reader

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

laurfar

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 27, 1999
Messages
501
I want to try the free Adobe Acrobat Reader, but the one offered on the website for free is 7.0, and it says the system requirements are systems other than what I have, which is a Win98SE. What can I do? Does anyone know if I try to put the Acrobat Reader 7.0 on, if it will not work on my Win98SE? Does anyone have a suggestion. Can I still get a version 6.0? What websites have these downloads?
 

DoubleHelix

Banned
Joined
Dec 9, 2004
Messages
24,388
If version 7 doesn't list Windows 98 as a compatible operating system, then I would suggest not installing it on that. Adobe has version 6 still available here. If you plan to use Windows 98 for a while yet, burn version 6 to a CD so you have it in case it's no longer available in the future.

http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/alternate.html
 

laurfar

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 27, 1999
Messages
501
thanks for the website link, but when I go there and click on the 6.0.2 version, I get a list of lang choices, non of them being North American English. What now? Help.
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2003
Messages
786
Have a look here for old versions.
You might also be interested in this free program to speed up opening of PDF files; I use it and it does work!

johnni
 

DoubleHelix

Banned
Joined
Dec 9, 2004
Messages
24,388
The link for 6.0.2 is right there in the first section under "Latest versions".
 

laurfar

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 27, 1999
Messages
501
Double Helix, I clicked on "latest versions". I then have to choose a language, and the ones that say "English" are listed as 'English (central European) for Wndows', and 'English (Middle Eastern) for Wndows'. Since those are my only choices, which do I pick. There are no just plain English, or 'English (north American)'. So what do you think Double Helix. Which one? Go to the site and click on "latest versions", maybe I'm just not seeing what you say is there. Thanks for your time. :eek:)
 

laurfar

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 27, 1999
Messages
501
Fantastic, thanks so much for your help. I'm set to go now, just downloaded it.
 

Squashman

Trusted Advisor
Joined
Apr 4, 2003
Messages
19,786
When you go to Adobe's site to download reader, it asks you what OS you are running first. If you are running Win9X, it will download version 5. I just did this the other day.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top