1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Acronis backs up so quickly? + How best to copy many files?

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by OM2, Aug 19, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. OM2

    OM2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    965
    It will backup 100GB in minutes - say 20 min.

    If I try to copy 20,000 files, then this would take for eternity.
    So... I guess this is because it does it file by file?

    Question: how do I quickly copy many files to an external hard drive for example in the quickest way?
    Just guessing, could I zip to the drive? Would that work?

    Thanks.
     
  2. SpywareDr

    SpywareDr

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Messages:
    3,318
    If your external drive is connected via USB 2.0, the maximum theoritical speed is 60 megabytes per second (MBps). USB 3.0 is over 10 times as fast at 640 MBps.
     
  3. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,911
    First Name:
    Jay
    It's my experience that number of files does seem to make a big difference ... Imaging or Copying.
    Cloning a new HDD is different story .. but won't work for a part of a drive.
    I have twin 1TB HDDs for my data only.
    Then Cloning is the best/fastest way to create a new drive with many files.
    Last time I did this ... I'm thinking I did about 700gb .. in around 20 min.
    But I didn't stay around to watch the pot boil :D

    If you can't clone ..... Try just coping in smaller quantities.
    It feels like the slow down seems to be windows organizing what to do.
    Try to not confuse it :D

    I may have to replace (Clone) a new 1TB HDD in a couple days ...70,000 files & 377GB
    I'll check back and let you know.
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2018
  4. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    12,354
    First Name:
    Allan
    If the image you made includes those 20,000 files you don't need to copy them again just mount the image and the files will be available.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1214672

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice