1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Acronis OS Selector has *screwed* up my machine - and there's no going back :(

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by OM2, Dec 27, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. OM2

    OM2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    965
    As the title says: Acronis OS selector has screwed up my machine - and currently I have no way of going back
    I've spent 2 hours chatting to live support - and have no joy
    Sob sob sob - I feel like crying :(

    Desperate help needed

    Firstly: where can I get a rescue disc for my laptop? or a 'disc; that will write the MBR again
    I have been told this is the ONLY option I have

    I don't really fancy getting a bootleg copy from somewhere - which I might have to do if all else fails

    Any replies for this would be most greatfully appreciated

    Info: my laptop is a Dell 1525 Inspirion - I assume no other info is required - if not let me know

    (I have found somewhere where I can get Dell to send me a disk - the problem with that is that if a physical disk is sent this may take several days to arrive + they say the disk is 'upto date' - which can be a problem if the laptop is more than 12 months old. I need to explore other solutions first before I contemplate that)

    Secondly: I am seriously angry with Acronis
    I ONLY found this out afterwards: the failure of the OS Boot selector program is far from rare - it happens all the time and something they are well aware of - multiple posts have been made to forums

    Why why why why why dont the nincumpooops (not a swear word) make a backup copy of the MBR BEFORE making any changes and writing to the system????
    If something failed, then an easy recovery could be made

    Their tech support have confirmed that no backup is made and that the ONLY way back is to get the original OS disc or rescue disc for the particular laptop

    This sucks. It really really sucks :(

    I normally would say I like Acronis and have purchased their software
    Right now though, I hate them - I've lost soooo much time + I have no idea if I can get my system back :(

    If I had a million bucks to spare, I really would consider suing them for blatant stooopidity

    Any replies would be great

    Thanks


    OM
     
  2. OM2

    OM2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    965
    phew
    maybe god up there was listening to my struggle
    i rebooted using the acronis disk that i accidentally created while talking to acronic tech support (he didn't ask me to do this)
    i then decided for no good reason to choose to reinstall the OS selector program - again, not something i was instructed to do in my 2 hour online chat with acronis tech support

    i rebooted and now i had an option of selecting my OS

    phew

    i STILL wish i had enough money to sue acronis for wasting my damn time (1 day and 2 hours online chat and a further 1 hours messing around trying to get it to work) and stressing me out

    AAAAHhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!
     
  3. aka Brett

    aka Brett Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    16,918
    Here is a link to obtain the vista recovery environment

    [link removed by mod. Reason posted below]

    Note these are the files needed to work on an existing install and no more.{recovery environment}
    Your 1525 comes preloaded with the recovery environment and is accessible via f8....I assume you cant get to it because the factory mbr is damaged


    Also you can use a vista disk of a friend to work on your install...same with 7...it doesnt have to be bootleg
     
  4. OM2

    OM2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    965
    i went to sleep in the early hours of the morning
    i woke up early, turned on my laptop
    and :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :(
    it wont turn on
    it now reports that the BOOTMGR is currupt

    i have an acronis image backed up on a separate drive
    i really dont want to restore right now, unless i absolutely have to

    BUT: i have restored the MBR (only)

    i wish i wish i wish i'd bloody created a rescue disc when i had the chance

    acronis really sucks :(

    i'm following ur links now - thank u
     
  5. OM2

    OM2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    965
    i looked at the link u gave
    why is it a torrent? i've never gone into downloading torrents so cant download
    if the image is supplied by microsoft as stated, where can i find it on miscrosoft website?
    i'm looking right now, but cant find...??
    i'd rather download directly from there in anycase
    let me know
    thanks
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,197
    First Name:
    Terry
    Brett and OM2, I removed the link that Brett supplied. Microsoft is alleging copyright infringement because they have not given permission for that company to distribute the files included. I think that's why it's only available as a torrent--years ago it was available on other sites. Because of the legal issues we stay out of it by not allowing the link or the name of the site here. This is just a heads up--no infraction, no warning.
     
  7. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    113,909
    OM2,

    Although I understand your frustration, I've edited your first post for language. It doesn't matter whether some letters are starred out, it's still not acceptable and not needed on a family friendly site such as this one to get your point across so please be more careful. Thanks. :)
     
  8. OM2

    OM2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    965
    sorry, my bad. i mean no harm. i just want to get a ton of custard and pour it over acronis's headquarters. lol

    i still have my problem though. :(

    question: i have a backed up image for the laptop - but this is still useless to me?? because i need the MBR and that is another issue? if someone could confirm this, that would be great

    thanks
     
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,197
    First Name:
    Terry
    I can't confirm exactly what is wrong, but your analysis of messed up MBR seems logical to me. It happened once to me using a free imaging program to restore Ubuntu or XP. I had installation CDs for both, so it was only a glitch for me.

    Your easiest and quickest next step is to borrow somebody's legitimate Vista or Windows 7 installation DVD to do the MBR repair. Brett already suggested this, and I think few would argue that it's an EULA violation.
     
  10. OM2

    OM2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    965
    thanks terry
    can i use a window 7 disc to get the mbr back?
    if so... i should be able to get this
    let me know - this will save a lot of bother of trying to get vista disc
    thanks
     
  11. aka Brett

    aka Brett Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    16,918
    Sorry about that..I didnt know microsoft had any issues with that site...that download has been available for a very long time...it was provided by torrent to save bandwidth.

    the download used to be available from Microsoft at one time...not sure why they stopped/ then that site hosted it

    Anyway one can create their own repair disk from within windows...with 7 anyway...I think you also can with Vista.
    If the OP machine wont boot and a friend doesnt have a windows disk they can have them create a repair disk ...these will work in other machines,

    There are threads here on how to fix the dell factory MBR....granted if the recovery partition is still present.
    Sometimes it works sometimes it doesnt...but would be what I would try..but the OP will need a recovery environment disk before starting if the machine is unbootable
     

    Attached Files:

  12. OM2

    OM2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    965
    brett, thanks mate - much appreciated
    i have another dell laptop
    i followed instructions on web to create a rescue disc in vista
    and got the same screen as what u included
    problem: there is no option to create a system disc :(
    they even have a video on the microsoft website showing this - it shows there are 3 options on the left
    this is what i see: [​IMG]

    STOP PRESS: i have some good news (for me) i hope
    i've found all the original disks that came with the laptop
    still holding my breath until its fixed
     
  13. aka Brett

    aka Brett Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    16,918
    Maybe its only possible with the upper editions of vista.
    But anyway your dell windows disk should have the recovery environment on it...its basically a full fledged oem disk without drivers etc
     
  14. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,197
    First Name:
    Terry
    Vista does not have the Create a System Repair Disc; it was added to Windows 7.

    I am not 100% sure that the Windows 7 installation DVD or System Repair Disc will repair a Vista-only MBR, but I think that it will.
     
  15. TheOutcaste

    TheOutcaste

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    9,028
    As far as I know, Vista and Win 7 use the same MBR. The switch is /NT60, not /NT61 as you'd expect if they changed it.

    If I remember correctly, the ability to create a repair disk was added in the beta version of SP1, but was removed before the final release. Who knows why.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/971089

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice