1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Acronis True Image 10 doesn't see my SATA drive

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by Alex Ethridge, Nov 11, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Alex Ethridge

    Alex Ethridge Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2000
    Messages:
    9,185
    I have one SATA drive in this system and two IDE drives. Acronis True Image 10 (build 4871) does not see the SATA drive.

    I have searched the 'net and although I do see mentions of this problem in older versions of Acronis, I see nothing about it after version 8.

    Additional Information:
    I just restored an image from file to the SATA disk using Ghost 9 OEM.

    System Specs:
    Gigabyte Board GA-8IPE1000-G Revision 4
    Pentium 4, socket-478 processor
    with on-board PATA and SATA controllers
    512 Megs of RAM
    Windows 2000
    System is known-clean, no viruses or malware.
    Western Digital drive model WD1600AAJS
    Windows and Ghost 9 see and use this drive just fine
    Additional PATA drives are 40-Gig PATA and 300-Gig PATA
    the 40-Gig drive is the boot/os drive
    I don't think it matters; but, the drive's letter is K
     
  2. smbd

    smbd

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    467
    this problem exists if you back up to ATA/IDE drives.
    the only i can advise-try to go to Advance mode,it must see SATA drive.
    please post back then.
     
  3. Alex Ethridge

    Alex Ethridge Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2000
    Messages:
    9,185
    Advance Mode?

    What? Where? How to access it?

    Nothing in the menus like that.
     
  4. Alex Ethridge

    Alex Ethridge Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2000
    Messages:
    9,185
    I still need an answer on where/how to find this advanced mode you wrote about.

    I've been corresponding with Acronis Tech Support for over two weeks and I'm now of the opinion they are as much in the dark about this as I am. They've had me downloading things and running things and sending them screen shots and other system information and they just keep coming back with more things for me to do that don't work.

    And it looks like some of the Linux commands they want me to type at the Linux (#) prompt are invalid. I think they are as lost as I.

    I've now installed this hard disk and two brands of SATA DVD writers on four systems of different brands and Windows sees and runs all the SATA drives I throw at it while Acronis can't see even one.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/650510

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice