1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Acronis True Image backup Size

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by Jerold, Mar 25, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Jerold

Jerold Thread Starter

I've been using acronis for a few years now and I'm always trying to keep the TIB file as small as possible. I save them to a seperate partiton and create backups whenever I feel that I've changed the system (install new programs or updated, etc..) enough to warrant a new backup. I only create full backups and don't do incremental or differential one since they are usually the same size as the original TIB file.

One thing that I've noticed is that if I create a new TIB image the file size gets extraordinarily large, BUT if I restore to the last TIB image and then go thru the process of reinstalling/configuring everything since the last TIB image was created, the new TIB image file size is about the same as the last TIB.

I keep a txt file log that I add entries of any/all significant changes, updates and installations that I do on the system. I can restore a TIB image and go thru the log to reinstall/update or uninstall what I've done. I know it sounds like a hassle, but it actually is very easy and efficient - especially if the logfile is fairly thorough.

I'm wondering if anyone knows why the filesizes would be that different?

On my machine at work, The last TIB file was about 9GB. I made TIB the other day and it ended up at 32GB. I don't do a lot of changes or experimental installations on that machine. The PC that I use at home gets a lot of tweaking.