1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Acronis Trueimage Rescue Disks

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by Saxon, Feb 14, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Saxon

    Saxon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    202
    I wrote on the subject of Acronis Trueimage Rescue Disks on this forum some time ago. Back then I found that rescue disks made some months before a re-install was required failed to recognise any recently made disk images.

    I am not talking of rescue disks made with different versions of Trueimage, like trying to use a version 8 rescue disk to reinstall a disk image made with version 9. No, in this case it was a version 9 rescue disk and a version 9 disk image.

    To cut to the chase I advise everyone who has Acronis Trueimage to create new rescue disks every time the Version and/or the Build number is updated. This problem has happened to me two or three times now, but luckily Windows had not crashed so I could make a more recent rescue disk which worked perfectly. Please take notice of this or you could find yourself unable to reinstall your disk images if windows goes down.
     
  2. guitar

    guitar Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    414
    are you talking about boot disc or the fullbackup which i save on external drive
     
  3. Saxon

    Saxon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    202
    The backup is not usually the problem. It's neglecting to update the rescue disk when you have updated Acronis or to put it another way you are making new disk images with an updated Acronis yet not updating your rescue disk.
     
  4. Spider111

    Spider111

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Messages:
    118
    Personally I have never encountered this problem before actually you're the first person from who I hear that. Did you receive some error message?

    P.S: I've just checked my old rescue disks and everything is fine.
     
  5. Saxon

    Saxon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    202
    It doesn't seem to be an identifiable problem, all I can say is it definitely does happen at least to me. The error is always one where the disk images are reported as being corrupt i.e. unusable but after creating a new current rescue disk the disk images are accepted immediately and reinstallation continues perfectly. I don't want to cause alarm or panic but simply suggest that keeping the rescue disks up to date as well as Acronis itself is a good idea. If this scenario hasn't happened to anyone else ever then I can only use the word 'incredible' or there is something so unique about my system it couldn't ever be replicated. However the fact remains it is a possibility which is why I still advise keeping resue disks up to date together with the software itself. As the old adage goes 'You have been warned' and you surely have.
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    I've seen it in the past, so the advice is reasonable. :)
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Acronis Trueimage Rescue
  1. DaveA
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    252
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/544001

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice