1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Activate windows remotely

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by night-fury, Jan 22, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. night-fury

    night-fury Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Messages:
    89
    Hi,

    Is there a way to activate windows 7 remotely. And by remotely I do not mean taking remote desktop and activating it.

    I did try connecting to remote system via psexec (PS Tools) and then executing command: slmgr /ipk <product key> but it did not work. i guess it only places the product key in remote system but you still have to go physically to the remote system, go to computer properties and click on 'activate windows'. (i tried this long time back so not entirely sure).

    any better ideas?
     
  2. KomputerKid

    KomputerKid

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2014
    Messages:
    1,081
    Are you saying you don't have a product key? If you do have it you can call Microsoft and get it activated over the phone.
     
  3. PcPhoenix

    PcPhoenix

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2015
    Messages:
    99
    I think you were almost there.

    Try:
    slmgr /ipk <product key>
    slmgr /ato
     
  4. night-fury

    night-fury Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Messages:
    89
    thanks PcPhoenix. I did try the /ato earlier but nothing happened so i thought I am not doing it right. But you confirmed it today so I gave it another try. Again nothing was displayed and it still showed windows as not activated in computer properties.

    Then I issued slmgr /dli and it presented me with partial windows key which matched with what I installed with /ipk command. the same pop up that showed partial prodcut key, displayed license status as licensed :)

    all the system needed was a restart to display the same in computer properties. Thanks a bunch for helping me out here. (y)

    ----------------

    Is there a software or script that can help activate multiple systems with different product keys. My company does not have a KMS server and have got individual licenses, so thought I will just ask here. Marking the issue resolved though.
     
  5. night-fury

    night-fury Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Messages:
    89
    I have been using these commands to activate the windows remotely. However, i have got some odd 200 win licenses that I need to install and activate windows I have the hostnames of the 200 users. is there a way to automate this, may be not fully but to some extent if possible. I am not aware so thought of asking here.

    For now i will have to use psexec to remotely go to remote system's command prompt and execute above commands to activate windows.
     
  6. KomputerKid

    KomputerKid

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2014
    Messages:
    1,081
    You'd get a lot better response starting your own thread that everyone will see.
     
  7. night-fury

    night-fury Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Messages:
    89
    I have been using these following commands;
    slmgr /ipk <product key>
    slmgr /ato

    to activate the windows remotely. However, i have got some odd 200 win licenses that I need to install and activate windows I have the hostnames of the 200 users. is there a way to automate this, may be to some extent if not fully. I am not aware so thought of asking here.

    For now i will have to use psexec to remotely go to remote system's command prompt and execute above commands to activate windows.
     
  8. night-fury

    night-fury Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Messages:
    89

    kool....will try that (y)
     
  9. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    115,286
    Sorry but the question is related to the original issue therefore I see no reason to start a new thread by the same user so I've merged them both together here.
     
  10. night-fury

    night-fury Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Messages:
    89
    Hi understand, but the only concern is since the earlier thread was marked solved, hardly anyone will check the question that I have posted now.

    I'll however, let it be and check for another day or two.
     
  11. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    115,286
    In that case all you have to do is click the button to mark it "unsolved" again. :)
     
  12. night-fury

    night-fury Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Messages:
    89
    Hey, thats kool. Thanks for the pointer :) appreciate it.
     
  13. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    115,286
    You're welcome. :)
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1141687

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice