1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Active Directory Problem

Discussion in 'Networking' started by willzablocki, Jul 11, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. willzablocki

    willzablocki Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2002
    Messages:
    4
    I'm trying to set up an additional domain controller for our company's domain and I keep getting the error:

    The Operation failed because:
    The directory service failed to create the server object for CN=NTDS settings,CN=WIN2K BDC, CN=SERVERS, CN=Default-First-Site-Name, CN=Sites, CN=Configuration, DC=WINK2K on server WIN2K1. Please ensure the network credentials provided have sufficient access to add a replica.

    "A Service Principle Name (SPN) could not be constructed because the provided hostname is not in the necessary format."

    while running dcpromo.

    Can anyone help me??
     
  2. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
  3. willzablocki

    willzablocki Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2002
    Messages:
    4
    I have all the latest windows updates and I even tried changing the servername from develop3 to developa
     
  4. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    Have you tried to set up an Audit so you can see what and why it is failing? From your earlier post

    Sounds like the server does not have the proper rights to do replication. Doesn't a trust relationship need to be set up?
     
  5. willzablocki

    willzablocki Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2002
    Messages:
    4
    trust relationships are for use when multiple domains are being used. I found the solution though and i'll kind of explain it to you. In DNS, there are server resource records that active directory setup uses so that it can locate the domain controller to get the active directory fsmo roles to transfer. These DNS records were not properly set up so the one that was being set up as an additional couldnt find the IP address to the domain controller. adding a [domainname].local and . dns entry fixed the problem. Thanks for the help though.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Active Directory Problem
  1. solorize
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    574
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/86717

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice