1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

active winedow minimizes when Shift key pressed

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by winesmith, Dec 26, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. winesmith

    winesmith Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2001
    Messages:
    3
    I'm running Windows 98SE and IE6. Recently I acquired a problem which results in an active window being minimized whenever I press the Shift key. Not heard of anyone else with the problem. Imagine my frustration on trying to type an email message in Outlook Express and finding that the message pane minimizes and a previously mimimized window is restored. (To type in my required character, I have to restore the Message pane by pressing and holding the Shift key and clicking on the now minimized window. Any subsequent new press of the Shift key will minimize the window again.) The problem doesn't only occur with Outlook, it happens whenever more than one window is in use. e.g typing a keyword into a search engine.

    Have re-installed Windows to no avail.
     
  2. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
  3. winesmith

    winesmith Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2001
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Tony. Already tried that, but to no avail.
     
  4. Mosaic1

    Mosaic1

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2001
    Messages:
    7,486
    Until your problem is resolved, try this. When you want to type an Uppercase Character, press the Caps Lock. Press the Caps Lock again to resume typing Lowercase.

    Have you recently installed or uninstalled any programs?
    Scanned for Viruses? You should do that on a regular basis with up to date virus definitions.

    Try this. Boot while holding the CTRL key down to get the Boot menu. Choose Safe Mode.
    Go Into Device Manager and click the + in front of Keyboard, Highlight your Keyboard and choose Remove. If there are multiple instances of the Keyboard, remove them all.
    Restart Windows and let the Keyboard be reinstalled.
     
  5. winesmith

    winesmith Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2001
    Messages:
    3
    Good idea about re-installing the keyboard. I suppose it's a plug and play model as I don't recall seeing any software for it, but can't see that mentioned anywhere in Properties. The Device Manager recognises my monitor as a plug and play item. Still, worth a chance. I've been using Caps Lock as recommended but not much use when you want a $ or similar.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/62936

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice