1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

ActiveX issue

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by aineo, Jan 7, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. aineo

    aineo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Messages:
    266
    A friend has asked me to look at a problem on his computer. Something is wrong with ActiveX. It is a Toshiba laptop running Windows 7 64-bit. I am using the 32-bit version of IE8. I have tried installing IE9 Beta. I rolled back to IE8. I made sure all the security settings were accurate. I checked the browser at PCPitstop, and it says ActiveX is not supported. I have reset IE. I have added the site he is trying to get to as a safe site. I have enabled all activeX settings. I am at a total loss. I finally reinstalled windows and it still won't work. The only difference is that now it at least acts as if it is installing the ActiveX control on the site he is trying to visit, but it still won't work, and the PCPitstop site still says "ActiveX is not supported".

    In case it matters, the site he is having trouble viewing is http://kyfts.kctcs.edu/fhstart.html. This site is viewable on other computers.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,236
    First Name:
    Derek
    start IE in admin mode to be able to install Active X controls in W7 64 bit

    Right click the IE shortcut in start menu & select run as admin

    That is most likely failing because he has a LU account & not an admin account. Make sure UAC is set to high to alert the user of installs otherwise they will silently fail in 64 bit W7
     
  3. aineo

    aineo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Messages:
    266
    Thanks DVK. I made sure UAC was set to high (it was default) and started IE in admin mode. It brings up the bar saying it needs to install the add-on, I click to install it, it then brings up a window where I once again click to install, but it still doesn't bring up the login box as expected.

    What is really puzzling me is that it is acting nearly the same as it did before I reinstalled Windows (restore to factory defaults) last night. Last night it wasn't asking to install the software, but has been since then. However, it is as if the software never installs. I have tested this on my own computer (Windows XP) and my son's computer (Windows Vista) and it works on both. I do not have a Window 7 machine to test it on, but my friend's wife claims she can go to the site on her Windows 7 laptop.

    I really appreciate your help Derek. Do you have any other suggestions?
     
  4. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,236
    First Name:
    Derek
    what security tools do you have
    set internet szone to medium security NOT medium high & see if that solves it
    I tried in W7 64 bit & get a log in box. It is slow to bring up the box, but it does bring it up
    or try the java version
    http://kyfts.kctcs.edu/fhstart_java.html
     
  5. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,236
    First Name:
    Derek
    the only other thing to try is do a windows update & take any updates for root certificates as it looks like the active x & the java both have siigning issues
     
  6. aineo

    aineo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Messages:
    266
    The computer had Kaspersky on it last night before the reformat. I had disabled that to see if it helped, which it didn't. Now it has Norton on it, which is also totally disabled while I am troubleshooting. There are no other security programs on it at this time.

    I have added the site to the trusted sites and have tried both medium and low security, neither of which worked. I then changed the default Internet Security Zone to medium, again no luck. I am able to see and use the java version, which is acceptable for him for this site, but it seems activex is broken everywhere. Like I said in the original post, the pcpitstop site analyzes it as not supported on this browser. Strange. Very strange.
     
  7. aineo

    aineo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Messages:
    266
    All updates have now been done. Still no success. I did go to Tools>Internet Options>General>Settings>View Objects and found that there are several folders named "Conflict.XX", where XX is a number. I have deleted these, and it didn't help. This makes me think the ActiveX control is not installing properly. Well, I guess that is obvious, isn't it?
     
  8. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,236
    First Name:
    Derek
    pcpitstop gives afalse reading with W7 64 bit as it tells me that activex isn't working when it is

    I wouldn't rely on pcpitstop or any browser test site with 64 bit windows to give a 100% accurate result
     
  9. aineo

    aineo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Messages:
    266
    Thanks for that info. It may be that ActiveX is working fine, just not on this site.

    Derek, I really appreciate your help.
     
  10. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,236
    First Name:
    Derek
    lets just see what this shows and whether the active X controls are being installed

    Download RSIT (random's system information tool) from here to your desktop, then click on the RSIT.exe to start the scan. ( vista or Windows 7, right click the rsit.exe and select run as admin)



    If necessary allow it to locate or download a copy of HijackThis as needed.

    Once the scan completes a textbox will open - copy/paste those contents here for review please. The log can also be found at C:\rsit\log.txt.

    RSIT will also create a second log, info.txt, which will be minimized to your taskbar. Post that here as well please (it will also be stored at C:\rsit\info.txt).

    You can use separate posts here when replying and posting the log files if needed.

    The conflict.xxx folders are nothing to worry about and are usually older versions of the active X control ( frequently Flash ) but are safe to delete
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/973319

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice