1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Ad-Adware

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by tld12345, Apr 14, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. tld12345

    tld12345 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    30
    Hey guys

    I've recently setup a router and different modem to my pc and since I've done this Ad-Adware doesnt appear to work properly anymore. Iv re-installed ad-adware and have had no luck. It actually works up untill the scan when it appears to scan then 2 minutes later its says its finished.

    Ad-Adware was working perfctly on my system before does anybody have any advice that could solve my problem.

    many thanks

    (Its the free edition)
     
  2. Joanyoung

    Joanyoung

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,122
  3. tld12345

    tld12345 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    30
    yeah.. I'm pretty sure its the new one
     
  4. Joanyoung

    Joanyoung

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,122
    he he pretty sure,
     
  5. t bone

    t bone

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,203
    alot of people have been dumping adaware lately.
    it's become a bloated, unreliable mess.

    after you uninstalled did you restart before reinstalling?
    and did you update before trying to scan?
     
  6. tld12345

    tld12345 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    30
    yes I restarted and updated and still nothing. It just doesnt seem to scan the whole computer, it gives up and shows a summary after about 2 minutes
     
  7. t bone

    t bone

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,203
    what is it set at quick or full scan?
    also check the settings, maybe they got changed.... where it scans and what it scans for.
     
  8. golferbob

    golferbob

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Messages:
    3,895
  9. tld12345

    tld12345 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    30
    I've discovered running it in safe mode makes it work but not in normal mode
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/703728

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice