1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Ad aware and McAfee conflict

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by doman4, Jul 15, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. doman4

    doman4 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    I am trying to install McAfee internet security suite 2007 and it cant fully install because I have Ad aware se installed. I can not get ad aware to uninstall to finish the McAfee installation. Any suggestions? Thanks
     
  2. stantley

    stantley

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    7,091
    I ran into the same thing a while back. I think what I did was exit out of the McAfee install, uninstall AdAware and reinstall McAfee.

    What happens when you try to uninstall AdAware?
     
  3. doman4

    doman4 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    I get a message that says could not open INSTALL.LOG file. I followed the help on the ad aware site, and not of the suggestions got rid of it. Thank you.
     
  4. stantley

    stantley

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    7,091
  5. doman4

    doman4 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    I followed these instructions and still got the could not open INSTALL.LOG message.
     
  6. stantley

    stantley

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    7,091
    Did that happen when you ran unregaaw.exe?
     
  7. doman4

    doman4 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Yes, it happened then too.
     
  8. doman4

    doman4 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    It does nothing when I try to open the unregaaw.exe folder. It wont open or run.
     
  9. dirtysouth16

    dirtysouth16

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    i give you some tips dont get McAfee its bad go get avg or avast! Antivirus:) (y)
     
  10. MFDnNC

    MFDnNC

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    49,014
  11. doman4

    doman4 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    I have AVG also, just like some of the McAfee features too. I got it figured out. Thanks to those who helped.
     
  12. dirtysouth16

    dirtysouth16

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    you re welcome
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - aware McAfee conflict
  1. DaveA
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    409
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/596106

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice