Ad- Aware blocks some websites

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Mercury953

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 22, 2005
Messages
3
I ran Ad-Aware SE and now I cannot access some websites through Internet Explorer that I could access easily before. I can still access them through AOL, so the sites are not down. Any ideas what Ad-Aware did to me?
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2003
Messages
3,998
I don't use Ad Aware but I am sure it makes back ups. Undo them and see if that was the problem.

sekirt
 

Mercury953

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 22, 2005
Messages
3
I uninstalled it and deleted the folder, and that didn't help, so it must have altered a setting in Internet Explorer
 
Joined
Jan 22, 2005
Messages
96
I have had problems similar to this, where if some spyware is removed, some things in IE won't work. I was watching a show a while back, and on it they said that sometimes spyware messes with your Internet/Network settings. I used Spybot-Search and Destroy to get rid of any remaining spyware, plus it fixed the internet connection. I hope this helps.
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2004
Messages
48
I have used both Ad-Aware and Spybot S&D for a long time and NEVER had a problem with either program affecting what websites I could access. I think the finger should be rotated 180 degrees.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2004
Messages
9,600
There was a time when an earlier version of Adaware had some issues , but not recently , with SE. I think I would look to other causes.
Maybe something that you did on the same day? some other security download?. I am not aware of Adaware making changes in Internet settings , but it would be smart to make sure they are set to default , and then go from there. Wished I could be of more help. >f
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2004
Messages
9,600
Check in internet options ---restricted sites, in other words , look to Internet options (security} for an answer.>f
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top