1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Ad-Aware disconnects me from internet

Discussion in 'General Security' started by shiprock520, Jul 20, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. shiprock520

    shiprock520 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    82
    This started a couple months ago on my HP laptop, Vista Home Premium, 1g of RAM.
    I can update 8.0 AVG, Super-antispyware, and spywareblaster and everything updates with no problems. I then, or I start first with, it don't matter, the AD-Aware and halfway through I get the dis-connect notice. And more than once lately. Now this only happens with the Lavasoft, but I have been checking if anyone else is getting this. Anybody got an idea.
     
  2. tomdkat

    tomdkat Retired Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    7,143
    It sounds like something is blocking Ad-Aware from connecting to its update site. Do you have a firewall running? If so, which firewall? Check the firewall configuration to make sure it's not blocking the Ad-Aware updater.

    Peace...
     
  3. shiprock520

    shiprock520 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    82
    Maybe, but this started after upgrading to the new 2008 version. The 2007 never did this. I think Verizon is kicking me off rather than run fast enough for the update session. Thanks for answering
     
  4. tomdkat

    tomdkat Retired Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    7,143
    I actually don't think your Internet connection is being terminated. Here's a test you can perform: Run an Ad-Aware 2008 update and let it fail. Once it fails, start your browser and access a page on a website you haven't access before or in a while. Or, go to a site you've never been to, like this one. (I'm betting you've never been to that site and it's NOT a porn site or anything suspect :) ).

    If you CAN access the site after the Ad-Aware update fails, that means your Internet connection wasn't terminated.

    A change in an application (like a new version) can cause a firewall to block it. So, please answer the questions above so we can determine if it's a firewall causing the issue or not. :)

    Peace...
     
  5. shiprock520

    shiprock520 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    82
    Verizon wireless broadband has a small box that pops up and says disconnected, when it disconnects, and when I go to desktop where it now says connect on the box. You see right now it says disconnect on the box, while I'm online. You click on disconnect and the little white box pops up and says disconnected. I have no problem as I said with any other updates, with what I do with my laptop is update Starrynight and Heavens-above and take it out for telescope watching. So AVG, Superantispyware, and Spywareblaster is probably enough. This problem can be marked solved, I finally uninstalled Ad-Aware tonight, after another episode. However I'll keep it on my desktop as I don't have any problem with it at all. Thanks for answering
     
  6. entri3

    entri3

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    [​IMG]i have had this same problem
     
  7. shiprock520

    shiprock520 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    82
    entri3, that's what I was wondering, I'm sure Tomd was trying to be helpful but having Ad-Aware on the laptop forever, then having this happen after an upgrade?? Well, I have the paid version on this desktop and nothing like that happens (fingers crossed) Thanks
     
  8. tomdkat

    tomdkat Retired Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    7,143
    Weird. So, the paid version of Ad-Aware doesn't exhibit this behavior but the free version does?

    Peace...
     
  9. shiprock520

    shiprock520 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    82
    Well, as you probably figured out, I'm trying to pinpoint the problem, as it seemed to be Ad-Aware. I spent half-hour with the Verizon Tech, we jiggled a few things, as, I had went to CNN and was immediately shut down. But this was my desktop, and most of my disconnects were with Ad-Aware on the laptop. I have now 2 hrs without a shut down, a record for this week starting Sunday. We shall see
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/732093

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice