.. Ad-Aware removed too much .. ?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

agent_c

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 10, 2003
Messages
27
.

.. hello helpfulls ..

.. was just hoping to find some answers .. or links to.

.. trying to fix a PC that ran Ad-Aware .. and now IE .. Outlook and Kazaa don't work .. they freeze.

.. is this becuase Ad-Aware removed some instances of cydoor and/or client.dll files .. ? I know this is a missing .dll problem.

.. was wondering how people went about fixing this .. I can't find too much info online for this specific problem.

.. thanks.
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
I would boot to a dos prompt, and type:

scanreg /restore
and press enter.......

Select the day prior to running adaware......
that'll put back whatever you deleted.
 

agent_c

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 10, 2003
Messages
27
.. I use spybot .. but this friend ran ad-aware .. and they don't have a clue on a computer.

.. it's missing some .dll that Kazaa uses .. can I just replace this one file .. or would reinstalling kazaa work ..

.. can't get online on the problem pc.

.. spybot cleans so much more than ad-aware .. I don't understand how people can get so much crap on their machine.

.. thanks some more.
 

IMM

Joined
Feb 1, 2002
Messages
3,257
LSPFix will fit on a floppy.
Another thought might be a dummy dll - if it's appropriate to this version http://cexx.org/dummies.htm

Try to keep kazaa from trying to start and fixing any Layered Service Provider issues should get you on line tho'.
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
Did they make a backup when they ran Ad-aware? If so have them do a restore. Ad-aware should not be used any more until they come out with a new version. Use Spybot instead.
 

agent_c

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 10, 2003
Messages
27
.

.. I agree .. spybot is superior.

.. I doubt they made a b/u ... so I will try the aforementioned solutions.

.. so does IE .. Outlook .. and Kazaa all use the same .dll file .. ??

.. *client.dll .. ?
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2003
Messages
2
Originally posted by agent_c:
.

.. hello helpfulls ..

.. was just hoping to find some answers .. or links to.

.. trying to fix a PC that ran Ad-Aware .. and now IE .. Outlook and Kazaa don't work .. they freeze.

.. is this becuase Ad-Aware removed some instances of cydoor and/or client.dll files .. ? I know this is a missing .dll problem.

.. was wondering how people went about fixing this .. I can't find too much info online for this specific problem.

.. thanks.
Exactly the same thing has happened to me.
One way around it is to reinstall Ad-aware, IE will now work. (I have just this minute done this) Then turn off Ad-aware and down load Spybot. Send an e mail to Ad-aware with a really snotty message that no matter how good they think there program is "HOW DARE THEY ! Request instructions to completely remove all traces of their program. You will have to remove registry entries - I'm not confident enough to do this. So I' turned the blasted thing off!
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2003
Messages
2
Originally posted by Rogtalbot:
This is a correction to my last post (I hope I've got it right this time):-
Exactly the same thing has happened to me when removing Zone Alarm
One way around it is to reinstall the program , IE will now work. (I have just this minute done this) Then turn off the program so it ain't running and down load Spybot. Send an e mail to Ad-aware. Request instructions to completely remove all traces of their program. You will probably have to remove registry entries - I'm not confident enough to do this. So I've turned the blasted program off (in my case Zone alarm)
 
Joined
Jan 9, 2003
Messages
1,058
Are you surprised that Kazaa doesn't work? Just remember that removing the spyware that comes with the program is an extremely subtle form of stealing...
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top