1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Ad-aware vs Spybot

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by red_dragon1, Feb 25, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. red_dragon1

    red_dragon1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Hi, How are you?

    I am writing because I want to install a program that clean my system of all the spyware programs, but I have to decide between Ad-aware or spybot search and destroy, and I need some help because I don't know wich ones is better.

    If somone could help me deciding, or if someone have a good recomendation of any other program, that could help me too.


    :confused: :confused: :confused: :confused:
     
  2. kiwiguy

    kiwiguy

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    17,584
    Normally people run both. Why do you have to decide between them?

    Its not like antivirus or firewall software, which runs all the time in the background and means you should only have one of each running.

    AdAware and SpyBot are only run when you start them. Then you close them afterwards.
     
  3. wizzkid

    wizzkid

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    662
    Hi,

    It's a wise decision to have both Ad-Aware and Spybot on your system, as one finds nasties the other misses. But before each one is ran reboot as there will be errors.


    Wizzkid
     
  4. mobo

    mobo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,274
    You could then run hijack this , post your log and someone here will have a look at it for you:

    Download 'Hijack This!'. http://www.tomcoyote.org/hjt/ or from http://www.majorgeeks.com/downloadget.php?id=3155&file=3&evp=3304750663b552982a8baee6434cfc13
    Unzip, doubleclick HijackThis.exe, and hit "Scan".

    When the scan is finished, the " scan " button will change into a " save log " button.
    Press that, save the log , load it in Notepad, and copy its contents here. Most of what it lists will be harmless or even essential, don't fix anything yet.
    .
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/206604

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice