Adaware 6 actually exists.

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.
Joined
Jul 8, 2002
Messages
14,681
That could be quite a problem there!
Although most people would not do System Restore 4 times because a program messes up their comp. I would have stopped installing after the 3rd Sys Restore!
 

cnm

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 21, 2002
Messages
246
Looks to me from the log posted that xupiter was maybe removed incorrectly?
 

dvk01

Derek
Retired Moderator Retired Malware Specialist
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
56,452
strangely they have taken the forums off line because of a problem. Is it criticism that is the problem

Derek
 

cnm

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 21, 2002
Messages
246
Indeed :D
Will be interesting to see if the problem is still posted there when the forum comes back......

But they've never had any difficulty deleting posts in the past, no need to go offline, they just whacked 'em. :mad:
 
Joined
Jul 8, 2002
Messages
14,681
Could be. Lavasoft mods have been caught removing threads that recommend non-adaware spyware removers, and they edit out comments/negative feedback about adaware.

AdAware was a great product, but during the 4 months they didnt provide updates, I think they really ruined their business. I will probably stick with spybot even after version 6 comes out.
 

cnm

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 21, 2002
Messages
246
When it's released I'll give the free one a whirl, out of curiosity. So far it kinda looks as though Rev 6 is only good as long as it doesn't detect anything :rolleyes:

But I'll stick with Spybot. PepiMK is so great about updates and support. And so nice.
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2002
Messages
5,945
To be fair to Lavasoft I posted a mildly critical follow-up yesterday afternoon on the AdAware 5 site and it was still there a few hours later! (I was commenting on the fact that computer magazines were still promoting 5.83 notwithstanding the possible risks in using it on Common Name Toolbar etc.)

The forums were still active at about 16.00 GMT today when I saw the announcement of v 6 and it is a little worrying that they were, apparently, shut down soon after the first problem report.

As a Plus user I shall be standing by to receive my e-mail with d/l instructions. I might wait until the forum is back up and the early problems are clarified before I attempt to install it though!

If I can get it to work I will use it because, unless its completely changed since 5.83, it works on different principles to Spybot and may find stuff Spybot doesn't. I won't be getting rid of Spybot though !!!.
 

cnm

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 21, 2002
Messages
246
I'm imagining that they are working on 6.01 right now..

What little they ever said about it made it clear that it is completely different from 5.83 - more like Spybot, maybe? But it seems from the problem described, and the log the user posted just before they went off line, that the user wasn't asked to confirm before fixing Xupiter et al, and it just ripped them out by the roots without asking.. (Only my guess of course).
 
Joined
Jul 8, 2002
Messages
14,681
I hope it doesnt work exactly like spybot, spybot is much slower than adaware. oh well. its worth the wait.
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2002
Messages
5,945
cnm,

Sounds as though this could be a variation of the Common Name problem where using the out of date definitions to remove it also corrupted Winsock and took your internet connection with it.

It is worrying that Lavasoft left 5.83 available for download if they didn't issue a warning with it about the potential problems of using out of date definitions.
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2002
Messages
2,773
Originally posted by brendandonhu:
That could be quite a problem there!
Although most people would not do System Restore 4 times because a program messes up their comp. I would have stopped installing after the 3rd Sys Restore!
I wish I'd been on-line to read that

I don't suppose anyone has it in thier cache and could post it ?

This is an old post - but some might not have read it :-

Stop using Lavasoft's Ad-aware

http://www.spywareinfo.com/newsletter/archives/december-2002/12252002.php

steam
 
Joined
Jul 8, 2002
Messages
14,681
Yup there were 2 threads posted about that spywareinfo letter there.

Its not in my cache, but basically
A plus member installed AdAware 6. He didn't even scan for spyware yet, when he realized that his Internet Explorer no longer worked. System restore to before AdAware, it works. Install adaware again, it doesnt work. But why the heck would he not figure this out and install something and do system restore 4 times? sorry it just kind of bothered me he didnt realize that it was messing up his computer every time and he didnt have to keep installing it over and over again.
 

cnm

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 21, 2002
Messages
246
He did run it. He posted a log. Adaware found - and apparently removed - Xupiter each time, plus some other stuff, browser hijacks mostly.

Edit: I don't know how to find it in my cache? Temporary Internet Files is mostly cookies, shortcuts, and .gifs.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top