adaware and spybot backups

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

missfuffy

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 25, 2000
Messages
317
You have AdAware installed.
"If you have the AdAware option to scan inside archives enabled, AdAware may find files in the Spybot-S&D folder. Spybot-S&D does not contain any spyware, but it creates backups of everything you fix (until you remove those backups from the Recovery list), and AdAware complains about these backups. You can safely ignore these backups found by AdAware."

This is the message I get when I double click on Spybot S&D. Should I remove anything from Spybot and if so, what should I remove, where can I find what to remove and how should I remove what is being referred to?
I am new to all of this and am quite anxious about it all.
Does the "Recovery button" have anything to do with this? Please help!!
.....missfuffy
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2001
Messages
9,396
Anything which is identified by Spybot is safe to remove....you can also delete all bckups in Adaware.
;)
 
Joined
Aug 18, 2003
Messages
2,438
Spybot detection by Ad-Aware:
The reason that Ad-Aware 6 will detect SpyBot's backups is that the backups are simply relocated into a password protected zipped archive by design. A-A will detect any and all known objects that are in it's database if they are in your system ... even if they are archived (this includes System Restore, etc.). A-A is not targeting SB's archives, it is finding the objects that are contained in them. This is what the program is designed to do, find all instances of the objects in it's database no matter where they are located. This is not anything to worry about. You can add them to your A-A Ignore List, or use selective scanning to not scan SpyBot's backup folder.
 

missfuffy

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 25, 2000
Messages
317
Thank you; this really makes sense to me. This is the first time I feel that I have a handle on what I am supposed to do with all this stuff re: removing spyware.
missfuffy says ........... thankyou
 

missfuffy

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 25, 2000
Messages
317
Confused: How do I add S&D Backups to AA Ignore List?
Also: How do I use selective scanning.
I am so new to all of this and I need some help... missfuffy asks for help
 
Joined
Aug 18, 2003
Messages
2,438
Ignore List
Always do the Ignore List items first, before removing anything.
If you wish to ignore some of the detected objects:
From the same "Results" window that lists the detected items, select any items from the list that you want to "Ignore".
Right click in the scan results window and select "Add selection to
ignore-list".
Click "OK".
Then continue with the removal process.

That would be easier for you than the selective scanning ...

Ad-Aware Reference Guide: http://forums.techguy.org/showthread.php?threadid=164245&
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top