1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

AdAWARE Found Alexa on my Comp, so

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by Gary R, Jan 20, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Gary R

    Gary R Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2001
    Messages:
    1,440
    can I delete it just by telling AdAware to, or is there a special process that has to be done?
    :
    This is the readout AdAware gave re Alexa
    :
    Alexa key:HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\software\microsoft\internet explorer\extensions\{c95fe080-8f5d-11d2-a20b-00aa003c157a}\
     
  2. Marturo

    Marturo Guest

    AdAware found Alexia in my registery, and I removed it without any trouble. It came from downloading IE5.5 and is spyware or so I an told. And to think that's Micro Soft I thought they were coming out for no spyware. HMMMM make Ya wonder.
    Marturo
     
  3. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
  4. Gary R

    Gary R Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2001
    Messages:
    1,440
    I deleted Alexa with AdAware, & so far IE5.5 seems to be ok.
     
  5. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    Of course it is.

    Only thing is: you'll be missing the 'show related links' entry on your IE tools menu, so what you in fact did, was deprive yourself of an extra feature...:D

    [​IMG]

    Greetz,
     
  6. Gary R

    Gary R Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2001
    Messages:
    1,440
    Ooops. Oh, well ... I never did use that particular function anyway, so I guess no real loss :)
     
  7. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    To tell you the truth, I deleted it as well...:D

    Cheers,
     
  8. Marturo

    Marturo Guest

    Hi Tony
    Did you by chance have a link on your (Of course it is ) Post? The reason is I am used to seeing ants all over pages,no I'm not crazy I just picked the bug in Spy Blocker. Anyway in your post the whole middle is filled with SPY BLOCKER The page you are trying to access was blocked due to security and privacy concerns. I have never seen this on a post before, a URL to spyware can and usually just changes it into an ant. If I surf into a spyware site this is the warning I get and as I said I could read your upper page and lower this whole warning filled the center of your post. Has anybody runing Spy Blocker seen this before? Marturo
     
  9. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    Marturo,

    I'm not sure what post you're talking about, neither do I have an idea where those ants are you appear to be seeing.. :D

    PLease explain.
     
  10. DoyceJ

    DoyceJ

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,208
    Tony
    Your of course it is post is your previous one with the image. The ants are Maturos chosen block for spyware from his spy blocker program.

    Maturo
    It is an image that was posted. When Tony posted he downloaded an image and then linked back to it.

    Oops, I take that back. Tony didnt download the image but linked back to an image on the web.
     
  11. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    I'm not familiar with Spy Blocker.

    Could it be reacting to the fact there's Alexa.com in the image's url?

    In that case it's just as touchy as Ad-Aware is, when it decides to remove the Alexa value under HKLM\ Software\ Microsoft\ Internet Explorer\ Extensions

    Greetz,
     
  12. DoyceJ

    DoyceJ

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,208
    Ok, ignorance showing. Where is HKLM?

    Does it react the same now to the image?
    <IMG SRC="http://forums.techguy.org/attachment.php?s=&postid=325094">
     

    Attached Files:

  13. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    It's short for HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE.

    And personally, I have no problem with ants or any other insects when viewing that image.
     
  14. Marturo

    Marturo Guest

    I knew that I was in for it when the ants came back. No just kidding, DoyceJ put it better than I could. So that was an image you posted that set Spy Blocker off Hummmm. Well I have an interesting delema, AdAware takes me over 7 hours to scan for Spyware and Spy Blocker puts Ants all over pages and blocks Spy pics, interesting. I got AdAware years ago from ZDnet, then I found a site at http://www.wilders.org. This site has a great deal of Software dealing with Antivirus, Spyware, Firewalls etc. I got an up grade for my AdAware and while I was there picked up the program called Spy Blocker. The program was billed as a Firewall for Spyware, under tests that I have conducted it hits 10 for 10 on known Spyware sites. On the pic that you posted DoycJ it comes through without being blocked, Tonys has been blocked. Is it the same as yours? Of course I can If needed go through the little song & dance to view the blocked sites or images. Check out this site it does have some good info there and the software is name brand like Zone Alarm, Inoculate PE, Black Ice, some is free, some is share or paid subscriptions. Of course as an American I believe that we are protected from being spied upon. However as a realist I know better, everything we do or say is being watched and profiled. It's human nature to want to know what others are doing and with who. I don't like it that I am being put into little groups by Goverment, Law Enforcement, Advertizing companies & so forth. I believe this whole thread has been about how we can protect ourselves from prying eyes & ears. Am I right? Marturo
     
  15. DoyceJ

    DoyceJ

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,208
    Tony
    With his Spy Blocker program, when it blocks what it considers to be spyware, it gives him the option of placing an image of his choice in the section that is blocked. Maturo chose ants.

    Maturo
    Although I cant dipute the effectiveness of the program, it really is doing an "overkill" job. Tony's image is the same as mine. The difference is that he linked his to the Alexis site and I downloaded mine to here and linked to it. In either case, I am almost certain that contracting spyware would not be an option in this case. It seems to be hurting as much as helping. Clearing the spyware off on a regular basis would work as well I think.

    7 hours???? How is that possible.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/65659

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice