1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Adaware SE - Freezing Up !!!

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by oldie, Sep 23, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. oldie

    oldie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2003
    Messages:
    4,901
    When performing a full system scan - with Adaware at default setting - it always feezes at approx 80% of the scan. It then becomes impossible to get rid of any nasties it finds :(

    Any ideas chaps ???

    Regards - Oldie
     
  2. 66Stang

    66Stang

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Something might be blocking it from running, spyware is smart!

    Try running spybot first and then try adware again.

    If that fails, try hijacking it and posting the results.

    If that fails, crap you might have a virus of some sorts.
     
  3. oldie

    oldie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2003
    Messages:
    4,901
    Just for the record it will carry out a "smart system scan" with no hiccups - if this tells you anything :eek:

    Oldie
     
  4. Infidel_Kastro

    Infidel_Kastro

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    5,402
    Morning Doc,
    How is everything in Malta? Still working on the refugees?
    I had the same problem on my UNcle's computer this weekend. I nkow thias can be a pain, but you may want to try reinstalling the program just to make sure no files got corrupted, or try the old stand by fix of running it in safe mode. :)
    Andrew
     
  5. Cinders

    Cinders

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Messages:
    367
    Hello,

    I also have been having the same problems, today, with freezing, during both AdAware and Spybot S&D scans.

    I have done the usual maintainence (chk disc/disk cleanup and defrag) and re-booted, ran AdAware and Spybot again and had no problems.

    Worth trying.

    Hope it works for you as well.

    Regards

    Cinders
     
  6. LDTate

    LDTate Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Messages:
    789
    Please start your own thread :)

    Try running SpyBot and Ad-Aware in Safe Mode.

    This is what I suggest you do first.

    Make sure you have the up-to-date versions of Spybot, Ad-Aware SE and HijackThis. All are free and available below.

    Spybot:
    Go to Start > Programs >Spybot > Search & Destroy and choose Spybot S&D

    Close ALL windows except Spybot S&D
    Click the button to "Search for Updates" and download and install the Updates.
    Next click the button "Check for Problems"
    When Spybot is complete, it will be showing "RED" (RED) entries "BLACK" entries and "GREEN" (GREEN) entries in the window
    Put a check mark beside the RED (RED) entries ONLY.
    Choose "Fix Selected Problems" and allow Spybot to fix the RED (RED) entries.

    Ad-Aware FULL SCAN:

    Install the program and launch it.

    First in the main window look in the bottom right corner and click on Check for updates now then click Connect and download the latest reference files.

    From main window :Click Start then under Select a scan Mode tick Perform full system scan.

    Next deselect Search for negligible risk entries.

    Now to scan just click the Next button.

    When the scan is finished mark everything for removal and get rid of it.(Right-click the window and choose select all from the drop down menu and click Next)


    Before restart, Empty Recycle Bin.

    Restart your computer.

    Download HijackThis link in my signature below. Save it to a permanent folder (I create a new folder in C:\ named HJT). Open and hit scan, then save log. Once it is saved it will open in notepad. Select all from the edit button, copy and paste the results here.
    Don't fix anything with it yet! Someone experienced with the logs will advise you.
     
  7. Cinders

    Cinders

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Messages:
    367
    LDT,

    I was trying to inform oldie and 66 Stang how I had solved the same problem that they were experiencing.

    I was not posting another problem or new thread

    Regards

    Cinders.
     
  8. LDTate

    LDTate Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Messages:
    789
    SORRY Cinders :eek:
     
  9. Cinders

    Cinders

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Messages:
    367
    No Problem

    Regards

    Cinders :)
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/277180

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice