1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Add a network place wizard

Discussion in 'Web Design & Development' started by Brenz, Sep 14, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Brenz

    Brenz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Messages:
    59
    Anyone know how I can connect to Geocities using my windows XP add a network place wizard? I used it before for rogers webspace without a problem and I really liked it, but I can't seem to get it to work with Geocities. I set up my account with Geocities, everything is set to go, but I can't connect to my files.

    I tried connecting using FileZilla, but I get this..

    Status: Connecting to ftp.geocities.com ...
    Status: Connected with ftp.geocities.com. Waiting for welcome message...
    Response: 220-Welcome to the Yahoo! Web Hosting FTP server.
    Response: 220-Need help? Get all details at:
    Response: 220-http://help.yahoo.com/help/us/webhosting/gftp/
    Response: 220-
    Response: 220-No anonymous logins accepted.
    Response: 220 Yahoo!
    Command: USER brenz
    Response: 331-Enter your Yahoo! member password
    Response: 331
    Command: PASS **********
    Response: 530-Your FTP session could not be opened.
    Response: 530-If you continue to have problems, please visit:
    Response: 530-http://help.yahoo.com/help/us/webhosting/gftp/
    Response: 530
    Error: Unable to connect!

    What am I doing wrong? Any suggestions?
    Thank you
     
  2. southernlady

    southernlady

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,929
    To use FTP at Geocities, you have to pay extra, it's not a freebie. Liz
     
  3. southernlady

    southernlady

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,929
    I just copied that off mine. Liz
     
  4. Brenz

    Brenz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Messages:
    59
    Man that stinks!! I hate Rogers! They discontinued their 5mb webspace and are pushing you to use Geocities.. Though the webspace is still there, some of my files are corrupt and wont delete. Rogers wont offer any support for this any more, so I'm out of luck.. :mad:

    Thank you for your reply southernlady.
     
  5. southernlady

    southernlady

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,929
    I'm sorry you can't delete your files, that REALLY stinks and I would raise heck.

    Did you copy your pages so that you wouldn't lose all that hard work? I usually copy mine in notepad and save them. Liz
     
  6. Brenz

    Brenz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Messages:
    59
    Yeah I did I called them and freaked out, but they said sorry they're going to be shutting down the Rogers webspace soon and to use Geocities.. I'm not worried about the files that won't delete, I have saved a copy of them. But they're taking up space that I could use for something else. I guess they will be stuck in limbo till Rogers shuts it down and deletes everything. Jerks!

    I'm not sure if Rogers/Yahoo/Geocities is different than just the Yahoo/Geocities, cause there isn't any talk about having to pay to us a ftp program. They explain how to use it, thought it doesn't work for me. It does mention the ad free webspace, though thanks to so generous Rogers, the setup fee is waved, but there is still a monthly fee.. Yahoo!
     
  7. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    I am assuming this is cable internet.
     
  8. Brenz

    Brenz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Messages:
    59
    No wait, just saw that message..

    Save time by uploading all your files at once with FTP when you upgrade to one of our premium plans

    Oh well, guess that explains my problem with ftp then..
     
  9. Brenz

    Brenz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Messages:
    59
    Yes Rogers Highspeed, no wait it's now Rogers Yahoo High Speed Internet.

    With Rogers webspace you used to get 5mb per e-mail. So with 5 e-mails you could link together a 25mb website.. Guess those days are over.
     
  10. southernlady

    southernlady

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,929
    Actually, the setup fee is waived for everyone, LOL Liz
     
  11. southernlady

    southernlady

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,929
    ROFL

    Well, I guess compared to Angelfire/Tripod, it is...It isn't AS in your face as it was at Angelfire. Which is why I moved my home page from angelfire to geocites. But still AD FREE? Don't make me LOL!

    Here is my website so you can see the ads they put up: http://www.geocities.com/southernlady5464/index.html Liz
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/273871

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice