ADD/Remove Problem

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

xico

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 29, 2002
Messages
29,787
I am getting an error message when I try to Uninstall many of the programs listed in Add/Remove. I'm running an Aptiva IBM Win 95. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks,

Xico
 
Joined
May 28, 2003
Messages
2,366
What do the error messages say? I'm not sure that will tell me anything, but it might help someone to understand your problem.
 

xico

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 29, 2002
Messages
29,787
AN ERROR OCCURED WHILE TRYING TO REMOVE ADOBE ACROBAT READER 3.0

Uninstallation has been canceled.


Not very helpful is it?
 
Joined
May 28, 2003
Messages
2,366
Alas, I'm not well versed in uninstall errors. I do know that there are uninstall utilities that might help. I've never used by understand that Smart Uninstaller found here is a good one and free too.

There is probably a simplier solution, but I don't know it. :)
 

xico

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 29, 2002
Messages
29,787
Okay, thanks. I downloaded it, now I have to burn it to CD to put it into the IBM--but this sounds like a good start. The IBM is really a learning puter. All sorts of little problems. Thanks again, Bill.

Xico :D
 

xico

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 29, 2002
Messages
29,787
Okay, thanks Candy. I just got Smart Installer running. The Uninstall Tab is Xd out, so I clicked Remove and a message comes up that says You are about to remove a registry key. Continue?

I have not continued yet. But I have Acrobat 5.0 on here, plus the 3.0.
I'm trying to get rid of 3. Should I remove the registry key?
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Two versions normally conflict.....backup the registry prior to removing just in case, but you may have to uninstall 5 too, then reinstall.
 

xico

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 29, 2002
Messages
29,787
Hi Candy and Bill! There seems to be another problem in the Add/Remove Program. It's not just the Adobe that I can not uninstall. There's a number of programs I can't uninstall, and they won't uninsta;; with Smart Uninstaller either. I was going to remove the registry key for Adobe, but that isn't going to remove the program. I need to get rid of access baggage on this Beast, and, for whatever reason, it won't let me get rid of these programs in Add/Remove.

I am able to use Windows Explorer to delete some of these programs, but still something is preventing the Add/Remove from working properly. Could it be the old setting of Instand and Uninstall Shield--that I deleted thru Explorer?
 

xico

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 29, 2002
Messages
29,787
That's what it looks like I'm going to have to do. But IM trying to get this screensaver, Scrappy, transferred to my 98, so I don't lose it. I'm not having any success at that either. Oh, well, looks like I'll go have a beer. Thanks Candy. :D :D :D
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2002
Messages
6,160
Xico-You can uninstall by going to the registry, HKey_Local_MaChine\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall\ Somtimes these are just the GUID so you may need to open them up. Look for the key "uninstallString" this will contain somthing like
C:\WINNT\IsUninst.exe -f"D:\Program Files\InstallShield\InstallShield 5.5 Professional Edition\Uninst.isu"
Copy this and paste in the Run under your start menu. and press ok, it will run the uninstall. The items in your ADD/Remove Programs are in the registry and just point to these Reg Paths.
 

Attachments

xico

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 29, 2002
Messages
29,787
THANK YOU, Deke. Sorry, didn't mean to yell it, but. yes. thank you! :D
Much, much appreciated.
 

xico

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 29, 2002
Messages
29,787
Hi Deke!

I've gotten to the UninstallString "C:\WINDOWS\uninst.exe-f"C:\Program Files ...

But when I right click, there is no Copy. I'm getting Modify, Delete, and Rename. Under Registry on the Menu? Bar, however, I get Import and Export Registry as well as Connect Network Registry. Can I use Export Registry? Or I could also "copy" manually. Any further suggestions? Thank you. I really appreciate this.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top