1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

add/remove programs not populating list

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by mountainman1, Sep 22, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mountainman1

    mountainman1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    win xp pro, won't populate list getting; Please wait while the list is being populated. Have not done a system restore because I'm likely to loose all recent installs.
     
  2. Ent

    Ent Josiah Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    5,408
    Try downloading CCleaner and looking at its uninstall section, found under Tools. Do not touch the registry cleaner part. Add or Remove programs can take a long time to populate but CCleaner does it within a few seconds. This might tell us whether it is just AoRP feeling sluggish or whether something has actually gone wrong with the list.
     
  3. mountainman1

    mountainman1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    OK, I downloaded and ran it cleaner only.
     
  4. Ent

    Ent Josiah Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    5,408
    Sorry for not being clear. I didn't mean to say run the cleaner section, though that shouldn't cause any real harm. In CCleaner on the left hand side are four buttons: Cleaner, Registry, Tools, and Options. If you click on the Tools section you have a further choice of three of which the first is a similar list to AoRP. See whether that list loads in a reasonable amount of time.
     
  5. mountainman1

    mountainman1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    OK, Uninstall,startup,and system restore, the uninstall is the list that should be in control panel
     
  6. Ent

    Ent Josiah Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    5,408
    Correct. You can use that list to uninstall any program you need to uninstall, much as you would use its control panel equivalent. If it loads correctly and in good time I'd be inclined to just use it; whatever problem you report with the Windows program is probably just its own slowness and apparently doesn't affect the CCleaner version.
     
  7. Tufenuf

    Tufenuf

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,461
    mountainman1, Do the following which may correct your problem.

    Click Start>Run then copy & paste or type in:

    REGSVR32 APPWIZ.CPL

    Click OK

    Restart your computer.

    Note that there is a space between the 2 and the A

    Tufenuf
     
  8. mountainman1

    mountainman1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    I'm sorry for the delay my DSL kept dropping me. I understand it's a work around and that the list in ccleaner will work but alot of programs are not showing up. Besides I have way to much software running now. Thankyou for your help and time. I still prefer the AoRP app in windows


    And KB266668 at microsoft had regsvr32 appwiz.cpl that didn't work either.
    I still have the problem. And would prefer to fix AoRP, if possible.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/951718