1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Add/Remove Programs won't open in control panel

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by mirando, Mar 28, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mirando

    mirando Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    After adding various .dll from an earlier Win2K installation (trying to correct an unrelated problem) to C:\WinNT\system32, discovered that Add/Remove Programs in Control Panel won't open. Rest of Control Panel works.

    This tinkering cased another alteration: right mouse click on Start|Explore
    (and Explore All Users) no longer shows all drives (and their directories & sub-folders) on one screen. Now only one drive (with directories & sub-folders) is shown at a time.

    Your suggestions will be much appreciated. Thanks.
     
  2. ratchet

    ratchet

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2001
    Messages:
    1,546
  3. mirando

    mirando Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Bryan,
    Tried the command and got "Specified command search directory bad"
    Also replaced appwiz.cpl with an earlier version (when it worked) but that
    didn't fix. Add/Remove still won't open. Since only .DLLs were changed I wonder
    if there isn't a connection with appwiz?
    Have also run the MS Recovery Console "chkdsk /p" - still no fix.
    I suppose the next step is to run Win2k installation in repair mode, but I
    would prefer something less drastic.
     
  4. ratchet

    ratchet

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2001
    Messages:
    1,546
  5. bobol

    bobol

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    2,187
  6. mirando

    mirando Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks to both of you for the advice. Unfortunately neither approach
    worked. I then tried repairing Win2K - no luck. So, I reluctantly did
    a fresh reinstall of OS - that worked.
    Thank you Microsoft for the time wasted.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/346716

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice