1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Add vista computer to xp network

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by Jeff Keene, Oct 27, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Jeff Keene

    Jeff Keene Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    I have an existing network with a pc (windows xp) and a laptop (wireless connection windows xp). It is a Belkin router. The vista computer connects to the internet, but will not connect or even ping the other components (Xerox printer) on the network.
     
  2. Jeff Keene

    Jeff Keene Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Does this thing not work on Saturdays?
     
  3. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    16,302
    First Name:
    David
    Some of us do!
    Have you turned on the file and printer sharing?
     
  4. Jeff Keene

    Jeff Keene Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    yes i had file and printer sharing on, but i will double check that
     
  5. Jeff Keene

    Jeff Keene Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    everything is on except media sharing
    earlier it would ping the other components but now it will not unless I hook an ethernet cable directly to the router
     
  6. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    16,302
    First Name:
    David
    Check the firewall(s) on the other machines as they may be blocking the Vista machine.
     
  7. Jeff Keene

    Jeff Keene Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    I will do that, but it won't ping the router either.
     
  8. Jeff Keene

    Jeff Keene Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    still won't ping the pc with firewall turned completely off
     
  9. jackdw

    jackdw

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,729
    Are they all on the same workgroup?
     
  10. Jeff Keene

    Jeff Keene Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    can't get that far. the network workgroup the other computers are on doesn't show up on vista and i don't have an option to add it. Even though i did install the network with a flash drive to the vista computer
     
  11. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    16,302
    First Name:
    David
    There is NO need in using any wizard.
    Have you tried "Right clicking " the network Icon in the systray and selecting Network and Sharing Center?
    On the right side is a "Customize", select it. Now you can change the network name.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/644371

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice