1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Added 2nd optical drive wont recognize master drive

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Lancerator, Mar 30, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Lancerator

    Lancerator Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    I just installed a second dvd drive computor recognizes them both at start up. The problem is the drive that is in the master position will not read discs. Ive swapped them both around but no luck either way. Whatever one is jumpered master will not read. Putting both drives on the same ide chain. Farthest one out is master. Any ideas?

    Thanks
     
  2. Billy the Adult

    Billy the Adult

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    644
    Hello and Welcome.. Have you tried setting both to cable select?
     
  3. Lancerator

    Lancerator Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    yes did that and the outer most drive wont work or master position
     
  4. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,256
    First Name:
    Frank
    That was going to be my suggestion - set them both to "Cable Select".

    -----------------------------------------------------------------

    Go into the BIOS setup screen and make sure both optical drives are recognized and enabled.

    ------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. Lancerator

    Lancerator Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    How do I go to the bios? They are both in device manager and says they are working fine.
     
  6. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,256
    First Name:
    Frank
    If they're both listed in the Device Manager and listed as working properly, then my next guess would be a problem with the IDE ribbon cable.

    --------------------------------------------------
     
  7. Lancerator

    Lancerator Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    put a new ribbon cable in also.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Added optical drive
  1. Willkabob
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    267
  2. Adrenalin369
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    266
  3. h1p573r745h
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    154
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/814238

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice