1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Adding a video card

Discussion in 'Games' started by Fruziek, Mar 26, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Fruziek

    Fruziek Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    MY computer specs are:
    perating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (6.1, Build 7601) Service Pack 1 (7601.win7sp1_gdr.150202-1526)
    Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
    System Manufacturer: Gateway
    System Model: DX4860
    BIOS: BIOS Date: 10/31/11 10:13:44 Ver: 04.06.04
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2320 CPU @ 3.00GHz (4 CPUs), ~3.0GHz
    Memory: 8192MB RAM
    Available OS Memory: 8096MB RAM
    Page File: 4709MB used, 11480MB available
    Windows Dir: C:\Windows
    DirectX Version: DirectX 11
    DX Setup Parameters: Not found
    User DPI Setting: Using System DPI
    System DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)
    DWM DPI Scaling: Disabled
    DxDiag Version: 6.01.7601.17514 64bit Unicode

    I am vondering can i add a video card to my system? I want to play game star citizen with it if its possible. Games requirments are:


    Minimum System Requirements
    Windows Vista (64 bit), Windows 7 (64 bit) – Service Pack 1, Windows 8 (64 bit)
    DirectX 11 graphics card with 1GB Video RAM
    Quad core CPU
    8GB Memory

    Any help would be apriciated ty.
     
  2. CleaverX

    CleaverX

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,323
    Well your mobo does have a PCI-X socket for a dedicated video card, The only concern would be your power supply, so when you choose a graphic card make sure your power supply has both the wattage and the connectors to support it, otherwise you may need to also buy a new psu; however my experience with Gateway is that they tend to use proprietary psu's that do not meet the standard dimension of the ATX 2.0 specification, so if it comes down to also changing the psu, make sure that it will fit properly.
     
  3. Tanis

    Tanis

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    3,969
    First Name:
    Shane
    Is this link your PC?

    http://www.cnet.com/products/gateway-dx-desktop/specs/

    If you are going to go from an integrated graphics card to a dedicated card you MUST change the PSU in any PC really. According to the link your PC comes with a 300w power supply, personally I wouldn't trust that to be up to the job of powering any dedicated graphics card.
     
  4. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,371
    First Name:
    Frank
    Here are the hardware requirements for "Star Citizen".

    The power supply requirements aren't mentioned, but the Gateway-branded 300W power supply definitely won't handle it.

    It looks like at least a 600W power supply is needed.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. CleaverX

    CleaverX

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,323
    OK so it looks like the stock PSU is a tad shorter than the retail boxes so you may have to bend a stop flap in left side of the case to get the retail psu to fit properly; as for the graphic card you will need to get one that is not any longer than 10"
     
  6. Blu_86

    Blu_86

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2014
    Messages:
    153
    Ah .. there are a few PSU's that are short enough to fit. Think Rosewill do a search. I know Rosewill is not a revered brand around these parts but for something like a GTX 750Ti it will do fine. Not to mention that a GTX 750ti is motherboard powered only and will play your game just fine, but the PSU power to the mobo does help with that regardless. There is also the option of the AMD equivalent R7 260x or R7 265 which do require a power connection to the PSU.


    You will want something like a 380-450W decent quality power supply.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1145519

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice