1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Adding memory sticks?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by 21questions, Feb 14, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. 21questions

    21questions Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Well guys .... i got an issue?

    i just bought 2 more sticks of ram and when i add them in and start the pc .... it wont start.
    I mean the lights and fans come on .... but the they keyboard/monitor/mouse doesnt?
     
  2. playme123

    playme123

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    297
    are you sure you bought the correct ram, if you have are they seated correctly, do they have to be installed in matching pairs. What is the make of your pc, and what ram did you buy
     
  3. 21questions

    21questions Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    yes ... i bought matching pairs and all the sticks work fine when using them as pairs. I have an asus a8n32 sli deluxe mobo with corsair 2gb 3500llpro 1024mb each. So each stick is a gig totaling 4gb and i know that if i dont use 64-bit os then i can only use about 3gb but i shouldnt be going through this correct?
     
  4. playme123

    playme123

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    297
    so what your saying is say if you only install 2 x 2gb they work fine but if you install all 4 the pc wont boot
     
  5. playme123

    playme123

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    297
    also have you tried testing them all by putting one in the first slot, then booting pc and doing this for each stick
     
  6. 21questions

    21questions Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    correct^^ same issue
     
  7. 21questions

    21questions Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    can anyone help?
     
  8. Hughv

    Hughv

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    8,450
    I had this issue with 4 512 MB sticks-2 was OK, 4 was no boot.
    I contacted ASUS support and they had me lower the memory speed, which solved the problem.
     
  9. 21questions

    21questions Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    really? ..... how do you lower the memory speed? you do this while theres only 2 gigs of memory on the board right?
     
  10. Hughv

    Hughv

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    8,450
    Do it with all the memory in place.
    Boot to the BIOS, look under Advanced for memory timing or clock speed.
    They suggested I lower it one speed.
    Write down the original settings in case you have to revert.
     
  11. 21questions

    21questions Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    how? again when i have more than 2 sticks in, my monitor/keyboard wont work?
     
  12. 21questions

    21questions Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    18
  13. Hughv

    Hughv

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    8,450
    I assume you mean they don't work in the BIOS screen?
    Try it with just the two sticks that work.
    Remember to note the present values.
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/683313

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice