1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Adding memory

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by kevinps62, Dec 21, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. kevinps62

    kevinps62 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    22
    Another question about adding memory: A chart on the inside of the computer shows how to configure the memory in the slots (i.e. for 128Mb, 32 in slot 0, 64 in slot 1, and 32 in slot 2.) The only problem is that slot 2 does not have a bank to accept the memory. Can I install a missing bank(??) and install 128Mb, or am I limited to 96 (a 32 and a 64). Or could I just put 128 in one of the slots and kiss it? Thanks
     
  2. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    You are saying there is no 3rd DIMM slot? If there are only 2 slots you physically cannot add another one.
     
  3. slipe

    slipe

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2000
    Messages:
    6,832
    A single 128 should work fine.
     
  4. deuce

    deuce

    Joined:
    May 26, 2001
    Messages:
    7,530
    Well, if there are two slots (or three?) then it usually won't let you put the max in just one slot. A lot of the time the max per slot is divided up from the total max supported, so with 2 slots it is 64 max per slot with 128mb total. However that is a wierd configuration they want but I don't know why they would say there is a slot 2 unless it is for a different version of that model mother board. In that case just ignore me and try using one 128mb like slipe said, and if that doesn't work then try using a 64 in each.
     
  5. kevinps62

    kevinps62 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    22
  6. stanggt2

    stanggt2

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2001
    Messages:
    278
    There is no problem with adding that much memory But you will just be wasteing your money most people will not need more than 256 megs
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/62525

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice