adding more ram

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

ryan711

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 5, 2003
Messages
58
I am about to get a new video card so that i can play command and conquer generals. I have 256 mb of ram(2x128) could i add more ram such as 1 512 or 2 256. Would it work because on new computers i see it says 512mb or ram(expandable to 2 gigs.) any way i just wanted to know if it would work. Also i would like to know if generals would play pretty decent on my comp. here r my specs. pIII 933mhzts, 256mg ram, geforce 4 mx series 64 megs, the only thing is the vid card is a pci. the requirements for generals says it needs to be an agp card, does this matter at all. thanks in advance.
 
D

Deathdealer

i think it might lag a little because of your mhz

it doesnt matter if its agp or pci
 
Joined
Aug 15, 2002
Messages
5,577
Yes, the AGP card does indeed make a huge difference on that game. I have a GeForce4 MX420 PCI card, and the game runs horribly. My friend, with a mere GeForce2, can run it without any problems, simply because it is an AGP card.

Most other games work fine with my card though, Generals just doesn't seem to like it.

I wouldn't worry about your CPU becoming outdated yet, the P3's were very good processors, and still hold their own against newer ones.

To determine how much memory you can upgrade to, we need your motherboard model number, or the computer model number, if it's pre-built (Dell, HP).
 

ryan711

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 5, 2003
Messages
58
i am thinking about getting an ati 9100 128 mg pci if i get this do u think it will be slow still. my computer model number is an hp pavilion 7850. it only came with 128 i added another 128. isnt a 9100 better than a geforce mx420. or if not that then how about a geforce fx 5200 pci card. which card do u think would make the game not lag.
 

ryan711

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 5, 2003
Messages
58
i have also heard of an pci to agp converter if u know anything about it please share.
 
Joined
Aug 15, 2002
Messages
5,577
If you don't have an AGP card, then don't bother trying to upgrade your video card. Nothing you can get will be effective.

Never heard of the converter, it probably exists, but it won't help speed at all. The card may be directly connected to AGP, but that AGP port then has to go through PCI, which still slows it down.

Your system is upgradeable up to 512MB, but only 256 in each slot, so you would have to get 2x256. Just make sure you get the right kind (SDRAM).
 

ryan711

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 5, 2003
Messages
58
also someone i know has the ati visiontech 9100 128mb pci they said it was the fastest pci availible. they have it and he says he plays ut2003 on medium detail with no problems what so ever.
 
Joined
Sep 6, 2003
Messages
261
PC133 man.

As far as the ATI card? I would do some research on it myself before I bought it. Try a Google search for that card and read some reviews.
 
Joined
Aug 15, 2002
Messages
5,577
Getting a new video card is ultimately pointless. You should look into saving up your money, and getting a whole new motherboard that has AGP, then get a video card. The mere fact that it's PCI slows it down by an incredible amount. I have the MX420, and I can play UT2k3 with no problems, even with some AA and AF turned on. Getting the 9100 will not help much, simply because it is a PCI card. Trust me, do not bother getting a new video card now. Save your money and wait.
 

ryan711

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 5, 2003
Messages
58
if you can play ut2003 with no problems then you should be able to play cnc generals with no prob because ut2k3 uses more video power than generals
 
Joined
Aug 15, 2002
Messages
5,577
UT2k3 may use more video power, ryan711, but Generals was coded much differently than UT2k3. Generals relies much more on transfer rate from the video card to the motherboard, where UT2k3 relies more on brute power of the video card. That's why UT2k3 is playable on a PCI video card, whereas Generals is not.
 

MysticEyes

Banned
Joined
Mar 30, 2002
Messages
4,825
McTimson is giving you sound, accurate advice, based on experience and theory. I would follow it.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top