1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Adding RAM memory

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by v_roma, Apr 14, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. v_roma

    v_roma Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    I currently have a 256 DDR DIMM. I'd like to have at least 512 Mb. Can I add a 512 DIMM and get 768?
    Thanks.
     
  2. dustyjay

    dustyjay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,661
    First Name:
    Jay
    if your motherboard will support that much ram then yes you can. And most modern Mobo's will support at least a gig of ram.
     
  3. StillLearnin'

    StillLearnin'

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    1,742
    Only if you're using Win 2k or Win XP. 768MB is too much for the older Win98 versions (98, 98SE, ME). It won't be recognized or used and will probably cause instability if the pc will even work. What brand/model system? Mobo number/model?
     
  4. Mr. PC Doc

    Mr. PC Doc

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    188
    Yes, if you have Win98, Win98SE, or WinME, anything more than pretty much 256 MB of RAM will actually lower performance.
     
  5. v_roma

    v_roma Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Hmmm, I did not know that. I have win 2k, so I guess I'm ok. And I have an intel d845gebv2 board, which, according to their web site, supports up to 2 GB of memory. On a related issue, should I try to get a dimm that's the same brand as my current one (Samsung 333)? Thanks for all the help!
     
  6. dustyjay

    dustyjay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,661
    First Name:
    Jay
    well it would help avoid incompatability issues between the two modules.
     
  7. v_roma

    v_roma Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Ok, that's kind of what I thought. Thanks again!
     
  8. v_roma

    v_roma Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Ok, one more! What's a good online place to buy ram from (ie, cheap, trustworthy, and that carries samsung)?
    Thanks!
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/220341

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice