Adding ram too my PC will make games run smoother??

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Kannan.2000

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 12, 2020
Messages
19
Will adding ram to my Pc make my games less choppy or what do i need to upgrade to run my games smoother?
 

Kannan.2000

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 12, 2020
Messages
19
ASUS M5A78L-M Plus/USB3 DDR3 HDMI DVI USB 3.0 760G AM3+ based Motherboard,Black and using 8 gbs or ram which are EWB4g681PAE-16IC DDR3 i wanna be able to run warzone so I need to know if upgrading my ram will help that?
 

texasbullet

Ramon
Joined
Jun 11, 2014
Messages
2,827
You can add another 8 GB or RAM to make it into 16 GB if you computer is capable of adding more RAM and you can go as up to 32 GB or higher. You may need to check their website for details. Also it depends on the graphics card you are using.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 2, 2019
Messages
1,626
@Kannan.2000
Please share full specs of your computers, you can use TSG utility to share from my initial post.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
82,765
Kannan.2000:

We need more information about your computer than what you submitted in post #3, so please do the following in it:

Download and save the tsginfo.exe file.
After it's been downloaded and saved, double-click it to run it.
Information about your computer will appear.
Return here to your thread, then copy-and-paste the ENTIRE text here.

------------------------------------------------
 
Last edited by a moderator:

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
42,757
ASUS M5A78L-M Plus/USB3 DDR3 HDMI DVI USB 3.0 760G AM3+ based Motherboard,Black and using 8 gbs or ram which are EWB4g681PAE-16IC DDR3 i wanna be able to run warzone so I need to know if upgrading my ram will help that?
That motherboard is now over 4yr old and supports AM3+ processors [which were inferior to intels when they were released] While you can install up to 32gig of DDR3 memory, do not expect that this system is going to run modern games. In addition, you need to post the exact video card you are running. If by chance you are using the onboard video, adding ram is not going to do anything. IF you are running a modern video card, then you may or may not get some improvement in gaming performance
 

Kannan.2000

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 12, 2020
Messages
19
Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.9
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 10 Home, 64 bit, Build 18363, Installed 20190819201643.000000-480
Processor: AMD FX(tm)-6300 Six-Core Processor, AMD64 Family 21 Model 2 Stepping 0, CPU Count: 6
Total Physical RAM: 8 GB
Graphics Card: AMD Radeon(TM) RX 560 Series
Hard Drives: C: 930 GB (348 GB Free);
Motherboard: ASUSTeK Computer INC. M5A78L-M PLUS/USB3, ver Rev X.0x, s/n 170911535401634
System: American Megatrends Inc., ver ALASKA - 20170814, s/n System Serial Number
Antivirus: Windows Defender, Enabled and Updated


also note this is a prebuilt and cannot run modern warfare/war zone I just wanna upgrade something so I am able to run that game what should I upgrade for a better gaming experience
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
82,765
These are the performance ratings for the AMD FX-6300 processor and AMD Radeon RX 560 graphics card in your computer.

cpu.JPG gpu.JPG

Besides the fact they don't have sufficient "horsepower" for a quality experience with modern games, your computer has only 8 GB of RAM.

crjdriver is one of the hardware/gaming experts here, and I'm sure he will agree with me that you need newer and faster hardware.

---------------------------------------------------
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2019
Messages
1,626
Here are official game requirements for COD Warzone:
Minimum and Recommended System Requirements for Call of Duty Warzone on PC (activision.com)

For a smooth gameplay you need to look at recommended requirements instead of minimum

Recommended CPU is 3.3 Ghz quad core DDR3, so your CPU is fine.
Recommended RAM is 12 GB therefore that's one thing you could upgrade.
Your GPU meets following according to GTX 970:
1. Base Frequency
2. Memory Speed 7 Gbps
3. Memory Size 4 GB
4. Memory Type GDDR5

However, will that make your game run smooth or not is questionable and depends on:
1. What game settings do you set?
2. Does RAM get all used or not?
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
42,757
You can increase the ram to 16 or 32gig and that will give some improvement. As I said, amd processors of that era were no speed demons and it is not going to perform like a ryzen of the same or similar speed.
Your video card is decent however you are going to be held back by your processor.
 

Kannan.2000

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 12, 2020
Messages
19
wait one more question will
HyperX Kingston FURY 16GB Kit (2x8GB) 1866MHz DDR3 CL10 DIMM - Black (HX318C10FBK2/16)
Fit into my mother board?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top