1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Adding same cell

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by Future, Apr 21, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Future

    Future Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Messages:
    48
    How can I add the same cell to itself?? and then have the value given in another cell??

    EXAMPLE

    A1 to be used over and over to create a running total.

    so...A1=A1+A1 and for it to keep the value.
    so, it would be like 20+20+20 = 60 and the value 60 stored in another cell
    perhaps A2

    I can write a program to do this, but it would be DOS based, and I don't have the time...so any help would be greatly appreciated.

    I know I can creat continuous cells to do this, but I don't want to do that, because I would have a page full of enteris, when I believe it should be possible to creat a running total with just one cell.

    Thank you for any help you can offer!
     
  2. XL Guru

    XL Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,702
    I don't really follow. This code in the worksheet module

    Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range)
    If Target.Address <> "$A$1" Then Exit Sub
    Range("B1") = Range("B1") + Range("A1")
    End Sub

    gives you a running total in B1 of values successively entered in A1.

    If this doesn't fit the bill, post back.

    HTH,
    Andy
     
  3. Future

    Future Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Messages:
    48
    Thank you for your advice, however, it is solved now. My son who is 17 years old, was able to give me a method to achive what I am trying to do.

    Thank you again, for you help.
     
  4. XL Guru

    XL Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,702
    >> it is solved now

    Excellent! How?

    Rgds,
    Andy
     
  5. Future

    Future Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Messages:
    48
    well, he did
    b4+b5 in the b4 cell
    Then went to tool/options/calculations then checked ITERATIONS then increased the maximum change to its highest, and it worked..

    Of course, it can work for any cell number, the above is just what he used to demonstrate his method.
     
  6. XL Guru

    XL Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,702
    >> tool/options/calculations then checked ITERATIONS

    I see. Same result as the code but achieved "in-cell" by disabling circular referencing. Impressive. (y)

    Rgds,
    Andy
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/222556

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice