1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Adelphia and wireless router help

Discussion in 'Networking' started by e503, Oct 1, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. e503

    e503 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    16
    I have a adelphia cable, an HP wireless gateway and XP. I tried to hook up the router to this computer and I get it going, but then it stops acessing the internet, and it is making my computer slow. Before I mess up my computer, can someone give me instructions about what settings (DHCP,IP address) I should use and how to set it up? This gateway is a few years old , and if there is one that would make it easier for me to use, let me know.
    thanks,
    elise
     
  2. play1998

    play1998

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    65
    dude really how old is it i mean if it is makig your puter slow first it should not at all maybe a lil if you are not getting good signal strengh but if you are then you should not. second i would advice to get a linksys i love them they are easy to work with. most probably its that the gateway is going bad and that is why you are having problem with no surf after a while and slow speed, hook back up to the mdoem and see if you are getting the same simptoms or not
     
  3. e503

    e503 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    16
    it;'s not that old. i have a brand new computer and it is fine when the router/gateway is not attached as far as speed goes. I just need to know what about the IP number and that kind of stuff.....what else I need to do in the settings and how to set it up with my adelphia cable modem.
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    It's real hard to tell you anything about your router without knowing the model number. :rolleyes: Also, please connect directly to the cable modem, open a command prompt, and type:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Post the results, this will tell us a lot about what you need to setup in the router. I'm assuming that you are successfully using the cable modem with the machine, right?
     
  5. e503

    e503 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    16
    this iswhat it says:
    primary DNS suffix blank
    mode type hybrid
    IP routing enabled no
     
  6. e503

    e503 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    16
    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>IPCONFIG/ALL

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : elise
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No (Is this the problem? If so, how to enable?
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : clvdoh.adelphia.net
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce MCP Networking Adapter

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0C-6E-5D-13-30
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 67.20.97.8
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 67.20.97.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 68.168.240.8
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 68.168.240.2
    68.168.240.5
    Primary WINS Server . . . . . . . : 127.0.0.1
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, October 01, 2003 10:13:49
    PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, October 02, 2003 1:13:49 A
    M

    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>

    The model number is hn200w
     
  7. play1998

    play1998

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    65
    ok this is cable right well what that is telling you that your computer is getting the ip address so your modem does not do nat or dhcp, so the simplest way i will tell you to do it is connect your wireless router to the modem then do ipconfig go into interface of it and check in there to see if it has mac address cloning so like that you can type this in there 00-0C-6E-5D-13-30 and then the router will start to pull the ip since you got cable most or i think all cable company actually work by mac address if you don't go this route

    you will need to get in contact with adelphia so they can register your router mac address so it can start pulling the ip i hope this helps :)
     
  8. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    It looks like a normal DOCSIS compliant modem connection, and you don't have to do anything with routing for your situation.

    Nothing's wrong in the IPCONFIG display, how about the exact make/model of the router that I asked for? Also, are you connecting with the wireless connection, or a wired connection to the router?
     
  9. e503

    e503 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    16
    is HP hn200w and it is a wireless router.

    the config says something about IP router enabled and it says no. does that mean anything?
     
  10. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
  11. e503

    e503 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    16
    glad it wasn't just me! i did download the firmware.

    so...if i am going to buy a new router, which would you recommend? Not too expensive!

    thanks,
    elise
     
  12. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    I'm currently using the D-Link DI-614+ wireless router, it ended up costing me $15 after rebates. :D It's working fine so far, and it has a detachable antenna so I can add a hi-gain model to increase the wireless range, a feature I was looking for.
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/168821

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice