Adelphia and wireless router help

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

e503

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 23, 2001
Messages
16
I have a adelphia cable, an HP wireless gateway and XP. I tried to hook up the router to this computer and I get it going, but then it stops acessing the internet, and it is making my computer slow. Before I mess up my computer, can someone give me instructions about what settings (DHCP,IP address) I should use and how to set it up? This gateway is a few years old , and if there is one that would make it easier for me to use, let me know.
thanks,
elise
 
Joined
Sep 23, 2003
Messages
65
dude really how old is it i mean if it is makig your puter slow first it should not at all maybe a lil if you are not getting good signal strengh but if you are then you should not. second i would advice to get a linksys i love them they are easy to work with. most probably its that the gateway is going bad and that is why you are having problem with no surf after a while and slow speed, hook back up to the mdoem and see if you are getting the same simptoms or not
 

e503

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 23, 2001
Messages
16
it;'s not that old. i have a brand new computer and it is fine when the router/gateway is not attached as far as speed goes. I just need to know what about the IP number and that kind of stuff.....what else I need to do in the settings and how to set it up with my adelphia cable modem.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,418
It's real hard to tell you anything about your router without knowing the model number. :rolleyes: Also, please connect directly to the cable modem, open a command prompt, and type:

IPCONFIG /ALL

Post the results, this will tell us a lot about what you need to setup in the router. I'm assuming that you are successfully using the cable modem with the machine, right?
 

e503

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 23, 2001
Messages
16
this iswhat it says:
primary DNS suffix blank
mode type hybrid
IP routing enabled no
 

e503

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 23, 2001
Messages
16
Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>IPCONFIG/ALL

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : elise
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No (Is this the problem? If so, how to enable?
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : clvdoh.adelphia.net
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce MCP Networking Adapter

Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0C-6E-5D-13-30
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 67.20.97.8
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 67.20.97.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 68.168.240.8
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 68.168.240.2
68.168.240.5
Primary WINS Server . . . . . . . : 127.0.0.1
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, October 01, 2003 10:13:49
PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, October 02, 2003 1:13:49 A
M

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>

The model number is hn200w
 
Joined
Sep 23, 2003
Messages
65
ok this is cable right well what that is telling you that your computer is getting the ip address so your modem does not do nat or dhcp, so the simplest way i will tell you to do it is connect your wireless router to the modem then do ipconfig go into interface of it and check in there to see if it has mac address cloning so like that you can type this in there 00-0C-6E-5D-13-30 and then the router will start to pull the ip since you got cable most or i think all cable company actually work by mac address if you don't go this route

you will need to get in contact with adelphia so they can register your router mac address so it can start pulling the ip i hope this helps :)
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,418
It looks like a normal DOCSIS compliant modem connection, and you don't have to do anything with routing for your situation.

Nothing's wrong in the IPCONFIG display, how about the exact make/model of the router that I asked for? Also, are you connecting with the wireless connection, or a wired connection to the router?
 

e503

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 23, 2001
Messages
16
is HP hn200w and it is a wireless router.

the config says something about IP router enabled and it says no. does that mean anything?
 

e503

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 23, 2001
Messages
16
glad it wasn't just me! i did download the firmware.

so...if i am going to buy a new router, which would you recommend? Not too expensive!

thanks,
elise
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,418
I'm currently using the D-Link DI-614+ wireless router, it ended up costing me $15 after rebates. :D It's working fine so far, and it has a detachable antenna so I can add a hi-gain model to increase the wireless range, a feature I was looking for.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top