1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Administrator privileges required to access domain

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by CarolinaBill, Oct 30, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CarolinaBill

CarolinaBill Thread Starter

I am not sure which forum this belongs in: Win XP, Linux, or networks, or ?, but I will start with this.

After some recent changes, we have a problem with access to domain services such as e-mail only by users with administrative privileges. These same services could be accessed by any user or power user in the past. I will try to be brief in describing the network and the equipment. I am an assistant administrator for a sub-network in a retirement community that has other networks for office, personnel, health-care, etc. needs. Our network consists of five Win XP computers networked to a separate server machine running on Linux with a SAMBA interface that provides IMAP e-mail service, full internet access, and full inter-communication between the five resident computers so any one of them can be used interchangeably by users. We have about 150 residents registered but only a fraction of those use the computers regularly. After replacing an older server program that broke down from time to time, with a new one, and replacing our former Win 2000 computers with Win XP, we started having problems with network access. At present, when we register a new userID and password, we logon to the new account and change the My Documents folder from its default C:\Documents & Settings location to a mapped shared server drive (named H: ) through which all users can communicate from any computer, so that it is now H:\My Documents. The computer asks if we wish to transfer all settings to the new location and we say yes. With our old setup we could