1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Administrator privileges

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by pebble18, Jun 24, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. pebble18

    pebble18 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    I am trying to reinstall Windows Live OneCare and am having problems. Their solution was to install OneCare Cleanup Tool, then restart the computer. When I try to install the cleanup, it will run the first program, but when I click to do the next step it says "You must have Administrator privileges to run this tool".

    I DO have administrator privileges! I checked under user accounts and even turned Admin. off and back on, then restarted. I also repeated this with all 4 user accounts on my computer.

    My computer is a Toshiba Satellite notebook with Vista Basic Home.

    Thanks for any help you can offer!
     
  2. Byteman

    Byteman Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    17,727
  3. pebble18

    pebble18 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    This did not address my issue at all.
     
  4. RootbeaR

    RootbeaR

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,469
    Search the Vista forum for Administrative privileges.
    I can't remember the exact instructions but it is something like typing "Control Userpasswords2" in the "run" command box. You then need to select advanced tab twice.
    Also need to uncheck other accounts with admin privileges and restart in safe mode.
     
  5. jhhunt

    jhhunt

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    54
    Im not sure if it will work but you can try it.. It works with my games on vista.
    Right click the file onecare.exe or whatever its called and choose run as administrator or right click>properties ..check box run as admin...
     
  6. pebble18

    pebble18 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Because I only have Vista Basic Home, that "snapin" as they put it is not accesible.
     
  7. pebble18

    pebble18 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    This won't work because I haven't been able to reinstall OneCare, therefore there is no exe file to click on.
     
  8. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    19,742
    If it were me .. I'd try ..
    Go to Control Panel >> Security ... and disable the User Account Control.
    Not totally sure of the path ... I'm on XP right now.
     
  9. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
  10. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    19,742
  11. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    19,742
    Whoops ..
    It's Control Panel >> User Accounts >> Turn UAC on or off.
     
  12. jaybee1au

    jaybee1au

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    the short answer to your problem is that you can not "elevate" privileges in Windows Vista Starter Edition, Windows Vista Home Basic or Windows Vista Home Premium according to Microsoft. This is a deliberate tactic - see this comment from Microsoft technet: -

    "With Administrator Approval Mode, Windows Vista will run most applications with standard user permissions even if the user is an administrator. If a user wishes to run a program that requires administrator permissions, they must give consent through a User Account Control prompt. This helps limit malware's ability to make system-wide changes without the administrator's knowledge."
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/588007