1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Adobe Acrobat reader

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by dpnorth, Jan 6, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dpnorth

    dpnorth Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2001
    Messages:
    14
    I went to print something in the pdf form and the page comes up blank with a grey box which says ACROBAT READER file is damaged and could not be repaired. we had downloaded adobe from the site maybe a year ago and everything has been good until now. What is the problem? can you help? thanks
     
  2. Rache

    Rache Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,398
    It's probably best to uninstall and then install v5. The thing with acrobat when upgrading is to completely uninstall older v 1st.
     
  3. dpnorth

    dpnorth Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2001
    Messages:
    14
    I'm not sure I know how to uninstall.. Could you please help.. thanks
     
  4. jnibori

    jnibori

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,226
    dpnorth -

    I checked the Adobe version I have, and it does not appear to have an uninstaller. So, depending on which Windows version you have, things might differ.

    Try going to the Control Panel and see if there's something called Add/Remove programs. If so, activate it. There should be a list of your programs. Select Adobe, and hit the Remove button.

    There are also some nice freeware uninstallers around. - Here's the one I use, with WinXP..

    http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,4149,541138,00.asp
     
  5. dpnorth

    dpnorth Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2001
    Messages:
    14
    no matter what I do I get a box saying cannot find acord 32 exe. This program is needed for opening pdf files I don't kwow what to type in to save.
     
  6. Rache

    Rache Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,398
    What os are you? If it's 98 use 'find' to look for acord 32 exe. You may find you have 2 which is why there's a conflict. Use add/remove as well as find to delete AR, then install new v.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/111823

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice