1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Adobe bridge & sony raw files

Discussion in 'Digital Photography & Imaging' started by pal2525, Oct 5, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. pal2525

    pal2525 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Hi

    Have downloaded the latest Adobe plug-in and have just hit one minor but annoying snag.
    My jpg and raf will open in CS3 from Bridge by double clicking on the thumbnail but this will not work with Sony arw files.
    Neither can I get the "Open With" option when I right click on thumbnail (have cleared cache's but no change).
    Any one else come across this and sorted it?
     
  2. buck52

    buck52 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2001
    Messages:
    8,373
  3. pal2525

    pal2525 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Hi buck
    The Sony raw files (*.arw) do open in CS3 from explorer, but not from Bridge.
    It's the "file type association" in Bridge that is the problem.
    pal225
     
  4. buck52

    buck52 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2001
    Messages:
    8,373
  5. pal2525

    pal2525 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Hi
    Have uncovered my own solution to the problem. "file type association" in Bridge was a blind alley.

    I'm running Vista but the solution applies to other Windows op systems.

    In My Computer, navigate to the folder containing the file you wish to open (in this case *.arw), right click on it then choose the option "open with" and browse to select the CS3 exec file. Click OK and on returning to Bridge it is found that Double clicking on the thumbnail opens the picture in CS3.
    pal2525
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/756294

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice