1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Adobe Illustrator 9 & 10

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by hrisula, Oct 5, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. hrisula

    hrisula Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Messages:
    141
    Hi to all,

    My friend has just purchased Adobe Illustrator 10, but she cannot open my files that are prepared with the Adobe Illustrator 9.
    Seems that it is not backward compatible. Can it be??? Or is there a way around it ??

    I need your advise please
    Thanks
     
  2. wanabe_buck

    wanabe_buck Guest

    howdy

    I don't know the file extention Illustrator produces but what your saying seems crazy that Adobe would do something like that

    buck
     
  3. hrisula

    hrisula Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Messages:
    141
    The extension used is .eps and .ai

    Yes, it sound crazy, even so because Adobe Photoshop 7 is backward compatible, and it can read files prepared with older versions.

    Does anyone use Illustrator 10? If so can you open files prepared with the previous version?
     
  4. wanabe_buck

    wanabe_buck Guest

    I have Illustrator 10 ... if you can point me towards A file made with a previous version I'll be glad to try opening it

    ps... those are the extentions that are shown in v10

    buck
     
  5. hrisula

    hrisula Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Messages:
    141
  6. wanabe_buck

    wanabe_buck Guest

    they both save as .ps ...not .eps but open fine in Illustrator 10

    buck
     
  7. hrisula

    hrisula Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Messages:
    141
    Thank you so much for trying this for me

    She can't open them though, she gets an error message.
    What do you think her problem is? Any ideas?
     
  8. hrisula

    hrisula Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Messages:
    141
    I just noticed...
    The files are named logo.eps & logo1.eps
    Do you mean to say that when you save them they save as logo.ps & logo1.ps?
     
  9. wanabe_buck

    wanabe_buck Guest

    yes...when I right click and choose save target as the save as type box shows .ps and it saves that way...

    what is the eror message she gets

    buck
     
  10. hrisula

    hrisula Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Messages:
    141
    I am not sure what error message she gets, I will have to ask her. She can't open the files though
    Maybe she did not install it correctly and she ought to re-install... any advise? is installation straight-forward?

    Thanks again for helping out
     
  11. wanabe_buck

    wanabe_buck Guest

    As near as I remember the install was straight forward

    the error message may tell alot ...although a fresh install should do the trick

    good luck

    buck
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/169750

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice