1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Adobe / Macromedia Flash Cookies - how to block

Discussion in 'General Security' started by Telegraph Sam, May 2, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Telegraph Sam

Telegraph Sam Thread Starter

I have read that Flash cookies can potentially be a security threat more than standard cookies. I cannot work out from Adobe's help files how to disable Flash cookies in my browser IE 8 as appears to be possible. Ditto Opera.

I don't think Flash itself is currently installed on my PC. Is there an easy way to "toggle" it on and off depending on whether one is in the mood for animations or not?

2. perfume

perfume Banned

3. Telegraph Sam

Hi Perfume!

Many tks for the very useful article, I am studying it. But to do what the man says on the Adobe Settings Manager screen do you have to have Adobe installed on your PC in the first place, or does it somehow work if you visit their website "anonymously"?

That was why I was wondering if you could toggle Adobe Flash on and off at will somehow.

I use CCleaner (without the extra toolbar) but I was uncertain if this (and for example Windows Disk Cleanup) were effective against Flash cookies as well as the usual breed.

4. perfume

perfume Banned

Dear Tele. Sam,
    If you don't have the flash player installed and even if you visited their site anonymously, you can't get those Flash cookies or LSOs! Why not install? You'll be missing a lot of action in real-time. I am advising you because there is so much protection out there to tackle Flash-cookies. My sincere suggestion is forget IE, and try Firefox and add the excellent Add-on in it called "Better Privacy" which is like a stealth bomber against these LCOs!

Attached Files:

5. flavallee

flavallee Trusted Advisor