1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Adobe PDF File

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by Linda100, Apr 17, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Linda100

    Linda100 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    72
    Hi, I'm wondering if someone could help me. I have created a PDF File. Everything seems fine. It's 1.88 MB. The problem is when I go to load it into my website the program stops responding. I'm using Front Page 2000 on a XP Home Editon computer. The PDF File was created in Word 2000.
    Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. Anne Troy

    Anne Troy

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 1999
    Messages:
    11,746
    First Name:
    Anne
    That's a pretty big PDF file...but that's not the issue. Are you loading it using FP or FTP? If using FP, I would try uploading just that file using FTP software. If you don't have any www.CuteFTP.com is great and, at least, used to have a free trial.
     
  3. jbcalg

    jbcalg

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2001
    Messages:
    2,056
    agree - that is pretty big for a pdf file for a website, downloaders may have trouble with it
    - you may want to check the distiller properties and see if you can get it smaller. if lots of pics/images perhaps split it into 2 files

    but...it's likely FP timing out on you so try a direct ftp transfer for that file a la DB advice

    or (depends on your web host)
    - do they have a web based file manager? try that
    - you could try ftp'g directly from your browser using:
    ftp://[Your User Name]:[Your Password]@ftp.[Site URL]

    no square brackets once you've completed it, ie
    ftp://joeblow:****@ftp.microsoft.com

    with XP, you just need the ftp address, it prompts you for the username and pwd

    edit: . . and need i say Go Flames Go? ;)
     
  4. Linda100

    Linda100 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    72
    Dreamboat, I've downloaded the free trial that you directed me to. This is all foreign to me. It is a QA/QC Manuel that I need to put on our website. I haven't got the faintest idea of what I am doing but I will go into the help and see what I can figure out.
    Thanks
     
  5. jbcalg

    jbcalg

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2001
    Messages:
    2,056
    cuteftp is pretty straightforward
    just need your server address, username/login, and password

    then it's just like windows explorer, drag the files from the left side (your hard drive/directory) to the right side (the server directory)

    you might want to create a directory called 'pdf' to place the manual in, then link it through creating a hyperlink in FP

    then upload the link page and the pdf
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Linda100

    Linda100 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    72
    I downloaded the trial version FTP Server 2. Now I am buffaloed.
    Helppppppppp!
     

    Attached Files:

  7. jbcalg

    jbcalg

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2001
    Messages:
    2,056
    no, thats for more complicated matters - you don't need ftp server software (IMO) for routine website activity

    try cuteftp pro, that'll look more like my screen shot
    - also has a free trial
     
  8. Linda100

    Linda100 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    72
    I've downloaded cuteftppro and this is as far as I got. Now do I type in my website address in this box. Please bare with me on this one.
    Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Anne Troy

    Anne Troy

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 1999
    Messages:
    11,746
    First Name:
    Anne
  10. jbcalg

    jbcalg

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2001
    Messages:
    2,056
    may not need the http:// in front, but use your site name, ie

    ftp.website_domain_name.com

    should be the same settings you used in setting up FP to publish

    then you'll be asked for the username and password

    if you don't use the wizard, but go to:
    file, site manager

    then you'll see a screen like i posted above, click on new to get the fill in the blank subscreen
     
  11. Linda100

    Linda100 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    72
    This is where I sit.
    JB, I can't get to your screen shot. There is no site manager under file that I can see. I better get to the help files and read abit. It is very fustrating not knowing what you are doing and not understanding a program.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. jbcalg

    jbcalg

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2001
    Messages:
    2,056
    i'm using version 5 - so slight differences are to be expected

    looks like you connect ok, then it'stimed out (ie connection closed)

    1. you're trying to connect to the remote directory /QC manual (something)
    - is that an exisitng directory?
    - if not you need to create it (probably under tools or use the file folder icon with the * on it, to the left of the exclamation mark !)
    (i assume you have the necessary permissions to upload, create etc)

    2. somewhere there should be a file transfer/transfer type setting - either ascii (text) or binary (files), usually works fine if you use the 'auto' setting and let cuteftp decide what it is

    3. site manager (from my screenshot) is the 'open book' icon on the far left, underneath and slightly to the left of 'file'
    - then you can edit settings for 'linda's site' if you need to
    - if you can use 'edit' from the site manager or double click on 'linda's site' to open properties
    -> make sure pasv or passive mode is checked off

    4. can you transfer anything - ie a .txt document or something?
    or do you always get the disconnect message in the middle window?

    not sure what the problem is, just work through step by step
    - connect
    - navigate through remote (ie web server) directories
    - create/delete directories (as a test only, don't delete directories you're using :))
    - upload small test files

    see where the hold up is

    i upload large files to a telus hosted web using cuteftp so it's doable
    have you tried their web based ftp & file manager? clunky setup but it works
    (i'm assuming telus from your website email)

    if you still have problems a call to telus (same assumption as above) tech support may help, they mostly know what they're doing
     
  13. Linda100

    Linda100 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    72
    JB, I will try what you suggested and post back later.
    Thanks for all your time.
     
  14. md2lgyk

    md2lgyk

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    Messages:
    1,068
    I have no clue about your problem, but I wouldn't say 1.88MB is a very large PDF file. For my job I routinely access/download tech manuals in PDF from a military web site. Most are at least 5MB, and a couple are larger that 25MB.
     
  15. Linda100

    Linda100 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    72
    Talked with Telus and they have uploaded my file on their server. Now how would I get it into my website. Thanks
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/221148

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice